Unless

23 Mar

Today was the last day of the first term ((holy crap!!)) and, being the start of the holidays, I always like to do something fun with Adam to celebrate. He has been begging me to take him to the movies for the last month, so I thought today was an ideal opportunity to indulge him. I quick look at the schedule showed ‘The Lorax’ as being the only suitable movie for my munchkin. I’m not going to lie… my heart plummeted a little bit. Okay, a whole lot.

I love Dr Seuss. Straight up LOVE the books. As does Adam. But I sat through the movie for “The cat in the Hat” and a little bit of my life force drained away in the process. So, I was not thrilled about another Dr Seuss movie. Unfortunately it was the only one suitable and it was Adam’s treat, so I fortified my resolve, gritted my teeth and booked the tickets.

It turned out to be one of those unexpected delights that are so much more wonderful because they are totally unexpected. I thought the movie was enchanting.

Of course, it helps that the save-the-trees theme was beautifully translated. I am a sucker for anything green/clean/reduce/reuse/protect/nurture so this was right up my garden path.

Grab your kids, take them to see the movie, be enchanted and then have a chat about the most powerful line in the whole book: “Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not.” We could all do with that little reminder.

I think I need to get myself a little stone like this for the front door:

2 Responses to “Unless”

  1. wends March 25, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    planning to see the Lorax. I LOVE Dr suess. Must say I loved the cat in the hat 🙂 but you know whats so wonderful and you would love is Horton hears a who by the same ppl who did the Lorax. Its totally wonderful with a moral that is pure suess xx

  2. Caroline Avnit March 26, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    LOVE Dr Seus…and love that stone xxx

Leave a Reply

