Hunger Games

21 Mar

I have a bent towards the obsessive side. Just ever so slightly [insert heavy self-depreciating sarcasm]. When something grabs me, truly grabs me, I am sucked into a self-absorbed cyclone of obsessive behaviour from which there is no escape.

Usually I have no idea the fall is coming, until I look up and realise that the real world is still turning and that I have lost a significant chunk of time. For me books have the strongest pull towards the vortex and always tempt me towards the edge. Happily, a book that completely absorbs me is few and far between so there is little danger of going over to my dark-side on a regular basis.

I am a notoriously fast reader and can flatten a good book within a few days. Every now and then I stumble across a book that is quite literally un-put-downable. Harry Potter got me good and sound. I remember reading The Philosopher’s Stone in a single sitting. Twilight did the same – 24 hours. There have been others –  some of them less juvenile more sophisticated (The Language of Flowers springs to mind – two days). But I am a sucker for the magic and drama aimed primarily at the youth.

This last few weeks I have been aware of a lot of chatter about something called the “Hunger Games” all my social network feeds have been buzzing with speculation about the movie about to open. And where there is buzz, I need to know what the noise is all about. So I did what all enquiring minds do – I wiki’d it. And now I can’t figure out what rock I’ve been hiding under that I missed this.

The “Hunger Games” is based on a trilogy series of books by Suzanne Collins. Some are predicting that the movie will break Twilight records and even possibly Harry Potter records (although the true Potterheads obviously dismiss this as ridiculous). Of course, based on what I have just explained, I immediately started salivating at the idea that this movie-based-on-a-book could be better than the movies based on two of my most un-put-downable books ever. I HAD to read the book…

And read it I did – in less than 20 hours. And a rather good un-put-downable yarn it was. Now I understand the hype about the movie – and I can’t wait!!

3 Responses to “Hunger Games”

  1. wends March 21, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    oh dear.. here I go.. Like you my obsessive books were all the harry potters and twilight. something about them. Caroline alerted me to twilight and it sucked me up in 1 week of intense reading. then all 4 books were done. I hardly slept to be honest. So I am tres excited as I crave the high of that obsessiveness 🙂

  2. Caroline Avnit March 21, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    Have also heard the hype about it, despite living under a rock, but have not been able to get my hands on it, nor realised I really should. Your post has sparked curiosity – can I borrow yours?

  3. Caroline Avnit March 26, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    well craig bought and read the first two books in under 12 hours, but I have yet to find the time to read!!

Leave a Reply

