Grateful: Friends

22 Feb

Only 60+ days late but who’s counting

Today I am grateful for my friends. Of all types and varieties.

  • Some scattered far and wide
  • Others that live down the road
  • Some that I’ve known since primary school
  • Others that are new
  • Some that I’ve known before Adam
  • Others that I’ve met because of Adam
  • Some that I see regularly
  • Others that I haven’t seen in years
  • Some that know all my secrets
  • Others that only know the surface

I love them all. Each and every single one of them. Each one is special and I have a relationship with each one that I treasure beyond words. There’s the mom that I’ve simply nodded hello to for the last 2+ years. I don’t know her name, but I love our friendship. My oldest friend who watched Dirty Dancing with me 16 hundred thousand times. She reminds me of my childhood and the girls we once were. My friends who (sometimes) knows me better than I know myself, who often understand my motives better than I do. My friends that I knew at varsity, some of whom I’ve lost contact with. My dearest roommate and flatmates and housemates who shared so much with me and are forever in my heart. My friends on the interwebs (some met through the pages of this blog) whom I will never meet in real life but who have supported me along the way. The friends that I have met because of Adam, the ones who share a part of my soul because they have been a part of my son’s life. My hope is that we remain friends long after the friendship between children has faded. My circle of Dinner Club girls who restore sanity to me on a monthly basis. Friends of my moms who, in a way, have become friends of mine too. The friends who make me laugh – oh, how I cherish the friends who make me laugh. Be warned, if you make me laugh or smile on a regular basis, I may just hold onto you and never let go!

Thank you to all my friends. I am blessed to have known you.

3 Responses to “Grateful: Friends”

  1. Susan February 23, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    You are so sweet! And our dinner club ROCKS X

  2. Caroline Avnit February 23, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    Here’s to friendship, my terrible twin…

    wish I could have joined you guys at Dinner Club! You are so right about regular contact with friends, keeping you sane – my sanity is going!

  3. Fiona Valk March 3, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    Friends are such an important part of ones life…and you are right some of friends you do not see for ages, suddenly pitch and you pick up where you left off with no effort. I have a saying…I am happy to see anyone who is happy to see me and that is friendship. So cheers heres to my friend, Pia. xxx

Leave a Reply

