For Some Reason I Can’t Explain…

21 Nov

Every time I have an opportunity to see a band or artist live I wonder whether I can truly justify the expense. And every time that I pull myself together and convince myself to go, I always wonder what my fuss was all about. The experience always exceeds my expectations in unexpected and surprising ways. From U2 to The Script to Coldplay, each time the experience has been more valuable than any amount of money spent on tickets.

I saw U2’s giant claw up close and screamed my lungs out to “El-el-vation”, jumped up and down and pumped my fist in the air to “Pride”. I was spellbound by The Script and mesmerised by “I’m Yours”. I don’t know what it is. Seeing a live performance connects you to the energy of the band and music in a way that cannot be explained by logic alone.

Coldplay was an impulsive decision. And saw me changing holiday plans and plane flights so that I could go. And right up until Chris Martin opened his mouth for the first time, I wondered if I was just a tiny bit crazy. But then he started singing and 30 seconds into the concert I was awash with goosebumps with a voice whispering in my ear “this… this is why”.

Somewhere in the middle of the Coldplay concert I had one of those moments when life stood still. For just a second or two. Somewhere in the middle of Viva La Vida, with the crowd chanting and bouncing up and down in unison. It was a crystal clear moment of absolute perfection which will live inside me for as long as I live. A moment when I felt insanely connected to the song and to life.

For that moment, for the moment in the photo below and for all the others, I am so grateful to have been a part of them. I am so lucky to be able to say “I was there”.

Leave a Reply

