Life IS Beautiful

2 Nov

I don’t write much of myself here anymore. I don’t feel the need to post a lot about my life here, truth be told, there is not much to write about. These days I lead a busy, unremarkable and happy life. It’s not a delirious, gleeful kind of happy, but a simple and content kind of happy. Things still worry me and situations still get me down. Like everyone, I have my bad days and my irritations. My anger and my frustrations. But more often than not, they are only ripples on the surface and most of the time they roll away uneventfully.

I have come a long way.

But I’m not quite sure how I got here. I think it started with a ring and three little words. A “fake-it-till-you-make-it” kind of thing that has become my mantra of sorts. Everything that I believe and everything about the way I now live my life has to do with these three little words:

Love: I really do believe that love is everything. Love for life and its many, many expressions. It is a more profound concept than I am able to express here and I’m not sure I could ever fully express what love means in my life. I really do believe that only love is real and that once you get that, everything else starts falling into place.

Grace: What does “living with grace” mean? I’m not sure. It’s almost harder to articulate than defining what love means. It is an essence. A spirit of something. It has something to do with trust, kindness and acceptance. Where love is the feeling I have for everyone and everything, grace is my expression of that love. Grace is trying to find that feeling of love even when it seems completely impossible. Grace is acknowledging the presence of God or the divine in your life. It is trusting life (even when everything seems to be going wrong).

Gratitude: There is always, always, always something to be grateful for. Being grateful (for simple things on a daily basis) is probably one of the most transformational acts you could ever undertake.

I often worry that I will start to annoy my friends (Miss Pollyanna over there in the corner counting her blessings and loving everybody) and I probably do annoy them from time to time (sometimes I even annoy myself).  Some days I just want to bitch and moan and complain. And sometimes I do. But mostly, I’m happy.

 

“Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed. Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace, and gratitude.”  ~ Denis Waitley

One Response to “Life IS Beautiful”

  1. Cazpi November 2, 2011 at 7:03 am #

Leave a Reply

