I Remember Me

17 Jul

I remember me, starting at myself
See these same two eyes, see these same two feet
I remember you, you who I used to be
You still look the same, but you don’t hurt like me

What if this life is all that we’re given
We just can’t stop living, scared of what we see
Because in this world, anything can hurt you
Push you, then forget you
Erase your history

Now all that’s left is these hands, this breath
I’ve said goodbye to so many things that tears won’t cry
And I take this pain, this joy, and rain
Because all that matters now is:
In this life anything can hurt you
Push you, then forget you
Erase your history

But I remember me, I remember me
It don’t matter where I go, what I’m told, now you know
I remember me,
I remember me

~Jennifer Hudson

Some of you will understand this post –  most may not. I’d wager that the people who understand it will be the people who know me best.

As much as I preach it (and crave it), sometimes non-resistance eludes me. In most situations I will always give in to flight over fight. Sometimes I run and hide. Well… most times.

But then, crouched under the covers, I realise that I am worthy of my place in this world and that not showing myself is the silliest of all absurdities. I am learning that it is okay to be me. I am not perfect – but my good far outweighs the bad – and I am proud of that. I stand for a lot of things. I stand for Love and Trust. For Forgiveness. For Kindness. For Truth. For Gentleness. I am so thankful to have so many people in my life who embody these qualities – people who offer me love, trust, forgiveness, kindness and gentleness. People who give me strength to grow into the Me of my soul.

3 Responses to “I Remember Me”

  1. wends July 18, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    I think you is just lovely. Carry on believing you deserve the best because you do.
    Lovely post
    x

  2. Caroline Avnit July 18, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    “To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best day and night to make you everybody else, means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight, and never stop fighting.”
    e.e. cummings

    xx

  3. Fiona July 23, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    You is perfect just the way you is. I only know you a little but what I see I like, and as much as it puzzles me not everyone can like us, but that is ok 🙂 I always equate myself with being a Honey (ie our late Golden Retriever) I run up to everyone am enthusiastic and happy to see everyone, smiling and wagging my tail much better, and then am shocked when a person who does not like happy enthusiatic dogs turns their back on me. Their loss I feel lol xxxx

Leave a Reply

