I Will Not Rejoice

3 May

Read Sandra’s blog – she beat me to the punch…

“I mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy” (quote source unclear/unknown, falsely attributed to Martin Luther King Jnr).

“Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate: only love can do that.” ~~ Martin Luther King Jr

3 Responses to “I Will Not Rejoice”

  1. Caroline Avnit May 3, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Ditto. Ditto. Ditto xxx

  2. Fiona May 3, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    I personally am very happy he is dead….I will not for one minute judge those people in America who suffered such a devastating loss in 2001. The man was evil, vicious and a coward to the end. He lead violently and he has died violently. I know that there could be retribution for this and that Al Quaeda is alive and well, but at least one mastermind of evil is out of it.

  3. wends May 4, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    I think he needed to be brought to justice. he has killed so many people. I would have liked him to be captured and put on trial but with the way he lives and how long he has evaded capture I would have thought that was unlikely.
    I thought that the jubilent scenes were not good. Not good for the future. I understand peoples relief though.
    I dont however believe you can say that he is entitled to his beliefs. His beliefs led to the death of thousands. at the end of the day there must be consequence and his consequence was losing his life.
    I also think the news is so infammatory. I know not all americans acted in that way. and Obamas speech did not lay the tone for them to do so either.

Leave a Reply

