Everyone Counts. In Large Amounts.

25 Feb

I try not to be a judgemental person. But the one area where I can’t help but pay attention is to how other people treat the “incidental” people in their lives.

The cashier. The car guard. The beggar at the traffic lights. The scavengers on rubbish day.

And, while I don’t judge you to be a horrible person if you marginalise these people, I will keep my distance from you. Because, if you can be unkind to them, you will be unkind to me. If you are respectful to them, I can rely on you to be respectful to me.  I learnt that lesson the hard way.

4 Responses to “Everyone Counts. In Large Amounts.”

  1. 6000 February 25, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    +1

  2. Maylani February 25, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Yep, couldn’t agree more. I was a waitress for many years and saw first hand how cruel and unkind people can be to the little people. Real class is treating someone who can’t give you anything or get you anywhere with kindness.

  3. Fiona March 8, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Good on you Pia….my heart aches for these people who “should be grateful that they have a job”. Most of these jobs are just thankless and the only people who can make their day a little better is us. What does it cost one to say hello how are you and most importantly make eye contact and mean it…the response is always an overwhelming big smile. Corny saying “It is very nice to be important, but it is more important to be nice!” xxx

  4. odette May 10, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    love this! ♥
    so true, couldn’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

