Fear Is Our Greatest Curse

2 Feb

(with thanks to the Parlotones for the title)

If we could only figure out how to get past fear, we would live wonderful, happy, fulfilled and ecstatic lives. Not only that, but we will live without second guessing ourselves. But our fears are so deeply entrenched that it is almost impossible for most of us to see past them (you have to know something is there before you can look past it).

Our fears can be anything and everything. Fear of failure stops us from pursuing our dream. Fear of rejection keeps us from expressing love. Fear of lack keeps us in jobs we don’t enjoy. Fear of loss keeps us in uncomfortable relationships. Fear of what people will say (friends, family, society in general) keeps us following paths of convention and not our hearts.

What would you wish for if you could “wish without worrying”?

Ask yourself, what would you do if you had nothing to fear. No consequences. What would you do if you were absolutely 100% guaranteed to be successful. Zero failure. What would you say if you knew that you would only get a positive response? Who would you love if you were sure of the outcome?

What would you do if you were guaranteed success? The question is supposed to push you past your fears and push you towards your truth. It is supposed to show you your hearts desire and it asks you to consider that, if you could get past your fears, the universe would conspire you give you your heart’s desire.

I know a few of the things that I would do if I was fearless.

Live in Paris. Run on the beach. Write a book. Hug more people. Get a tattoo. Get paid for doing something I love. And a few more that I won’t share here.

But then fear steps in, and here I am.

But I am working on it…

“The whole secret of existence is to have no fear. Never fear what will become of you, depend on no one. Only the moment you reject all help are you freed” ~~Buddha

2 Responses to “Fear Is Our Greatest Curse”

  1. Caroline Avnit February 2, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Great post. Fear is so debilitating and suffocates the spirit. Someone once told me I was lucky as I had no fear. They couldn’t have been more wrong, I have just always chosen to confront what I fear and push past it. Not always easy and takes constant reminding. One thing I have learnt is that the universe responds when we open our hearts to what is out there, when we risk it all and live fully.
    I am happy to help you overcome one or two of those fears you mention…imagine the liberation!
    much love always to you
    xxx
    “I do not fear failure. I only fear the slowing up of the engine inside of me which is pounding, saying, Keep going, someone must be on top, why not you?” – General George S. Patton

  2. Fiona February 11, 2011 at 11:04 pm #

    Yep…so true Pia. I cannot even wish for things in case it is the wrong thing to wish for, for as the saying goes “be careful what you wish for”. I stand in awe of the folk who can skydive, ride the rapids or any of those adrenalin inducing antics wishing I was brave enough to try some of them as they look like such fun, but noooooo they are not for me…especially now. LOL.

Leave a Reply

