Snippets

9 Dec

Just a few random thought rolling about

  • Mumford & Sons. Oh, my soul. Love his album. “Little Lion Man” – love it. Brilliance. Wondering if SA radio stations will ever latch onto this one.
  • Then, similar but separate, I am really loving Eminem this time round. I am not afraid.
  • Today, while on the beach, we filled a bag with litter. It is completely disheartening to realise that what we did barely made a dent.
  • 10 months down the line, and I am in love and besotted with my Blackberry. I know it is just a silly electronic gadget and that there are more important things in life, but love knows no logic. Slowly but surely my friends and family are converting and it’s like I tell them: Once You Go Black, You Never Go Back.
  • I recently rewatched Serendipity is realised that it is probably my favourite romantic movie of all time. Take that Notting Hill and Love Actually. 
  • John Cusack is probably my favourite actor of all time. I am now on a mission to revisit my past. Say Anything. High Fidelity. Grosse Pointe Blank. Must Love Dogs… I am coming for you…
  • If it wasn’t for Adam, I would not cook meat. We already eat mostly meat free and if it was up to me, he would be a veggie child.
  • I have discovered possibly the best breakfast of all time: oats soaked overnight with fruit, nuts, seeds and yoghurt. I have no words to describe the gorgeousness of this meal.
  • All my son wants to watch is Tinker Bell. All 3 movies. We have ’em. We watch ’em. Constantly. And I think they are enchanting. I have no intention of pointing out to him that they are supposed to be for girls. They are the most magical and beautiful movies. All about nature and the beauty that exists in the world. All about believing in faith, trust and pixie dust. Besides, there are boy faries too and I plan to nurture his sense of wonder and imagination for as long as possible.
  • Adam was invited to 4 birthday parties this December. And we are so busy that we can only make 2 of them. Where the hell has this year disappeared to?
3 Responses to “Snippets”

  1. Heather December 10, 2010 at 7:14 am #

    Serendipity is in my top 5 of all time!! Can watch it over & over!

  2. Cazpi December 10, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    I want to be Tinkerbell when I grow up. It’s gorgeous.

  3. Caroline Avnit December 11, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    With you on the oats breakfast, John Cusack and Eminem but sorry, I am a die-hard iPhone fan 😉
    I think it is great that Adam watches Tinkerbell and often feel this is one of the advantages of boys that have been raised predominantly by a woman, in that they are more in-tune with their feminine side and therefore tend to be more balanced and emotionally mature. Plus as you say, there are boy fairies!
    oh, the beach litter thing depresses me too, but well done on doing your bit – every little bit does count.

    hope to see you guys this silly season
    xxx

Leave a Reply

