it started simply enough…

11 Sep

It started simply. All I wanted to do was to learn a few words, but before I knew it, I was in too deep.

I never, never, never (ever) thought I would (ever) have even the slightest inclination to learn another language. I think I was scared off by Xhosa at varsity.

I thought language simply wasn’t my thing. And I was happy to leave learning another language to all the other nutters out there. Very happy with my English, thank you very much.

And then I discovered French…

and now… oh.my.word…

I am in deep. I want to learn more and more. I have even started to walk around the shops muttering to myself in French. 

I am a nutter.

3 Responses to “it started simply enough…”

  1. iluvgreen September 12, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    congrats. i always wanted to learn frencH, was it diffucult?

  2. wends September 13, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    really! how fab. cant wait to hear some
    xx

  3. Caroline September 14, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    That is so exciting! I did a wee course a few years back before a trip to France and it really came in useful. I love the language, but then I love all things French! I do think the secret is to practise so maybe we can be nutters together sometime? Enjoy your trip… When do you leave?

Leave a Reply

