Wrist Binding

13 Aug

I have a piece of ribbon tied to my wrist. It was tied to my wrist by a wonderful woman and I, in turn, tied the end of my ribbon to the wrist of  another wonderful woman. And so it went – around the circle, until we were all tied to each other by a single ribbon.

It was a special ceremony in honour of a special friend’s pregnancy. I must admit, at the time I was not 100% convinced of the significance. But I am now in awe of the power of this simple act of binding.

One long piece of ribbon was tied by each of us in the circle to each of our wrists, until we were all bound by the same ribbon. We all spoke about our wishes for the little girl about to be born. We then took it in turns to cut the ribbon so that we were left with just our own bow around our wrist. We now keep the ribbons around our wrists until the baby is born.

The power of the ceremony, I believe, is in what happens between the time of the binding and when the baby arrives. Every day, countless times a day, I look at my wrist. And when I do, I send a special loving thought and prayer to both mother and her baby. We all know that thoughts drive this entire universe and that every thought resonates somewhere (be it a good or a bad thought). And, I believe that by this special act, we as a group of women and mothers, are coming together to create a cocoon of love around this mother and baby.

I am pretty sure that this baby can feel the love created by this group of wonderful women. I am so honoured to be a part of that group. Being surrounded by the love of special women – what a way to make your way into the world!

4 Responses to “Wrist Binding”

  1. Susan August 16, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Well put!! I feel very much the same and my ribbon has come to mean so much to me. A lot of people have asked about it too and it’s really nice to be able to tell such a sweet story. This is one loved little girl!!

    Sue X

  2. Fiona August 16, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    What a beautiful idea…love it. xx

  3. Caroline Avnit August 16, 2010 at 9:55 pm #

    Amy noticed mine immediately in the morning! It was a really special ritual and I too feel honoured to have shared it with you all. You depicted it beautifully here Pia. On a more amusing note, my ribbon came undone on Saturday and I was not feeling so great, so for a moment I panicked as I thought Suz might be in labour – fortunately not! (And it has now been re-tied!)

  4. wends August 18, 2010 at 10:32 pm #

    how beautiful is this. I just think its so special.

Leave a Reply

