Persistence & Determination

30 May

Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. – Calvin Coolidge

Today Dave ran the Comrades Marathon. It is such an enormous achievement that my brain still struggles to comprehend it. 90km. He was running from before the sun rose (5:30am), right through the morning, right through lunch and into the late afternoon. I have known many people who have had big dreams and aspirations (and I place myself at the top of that list). I know people who have wanted to do things, wished to do things and hoped to do things. But there is a huge difference between wanting to do something, believing that you can do it, and actually putting in the work and effort to do what needs to be done to reach your goal.

Dave really is an inspiration to me and I know that one day he will be an inspiration to his son too. I can’t even begin to comprehend the sheer determination and effort it took to get up day after day and run the kilometers needed to get him to this point. No Excuses. No Bullshit. I really hope that Adam will inherit his father’s character and not mine!

We tracked his progress throughout the day and when he finally crossed the line I was probably just as emotional as he was! He finished after 10 hours and 43 minutes of running! Exactly as planned.

Adam and I made Dave a good luck card and wrote on the front, “You are my hero Daddy” … and I know it will be true for Adam, today and always…

One Response to “Persistence & Determination”

  1. caroline May 30, 2010 at 9:43 pm #

    Congratulations to Dave! That really is a great achievement and something to be proud of!

Leave a Reply

