Puddles & Mud

6 May

Following on from my earlier post about the rain…

(forgive the archive of photos, but me and my photoshop – we had a passionate moment!!)

After the downpour, Adam and I donned our winter woolies and went in search of puddles (a Caroline inspired one-handed photo, hence the off-centre):

The monkey in full winter regalia – you would think it was 15 below!

We found a few puddles outside, splashy enough, but not what I was after… I wanted MUD!

Off we went to the vlei to look for MUD… and boy did we have fun!! Dirty, dirty mud + permission to play in it = heaven for little boys:

A Running jump

And yes, the pants were soaked up to the thighs and there was more water in the wellies than out!

And I got in on the action too. I was barefoot the whole time…

Gooey, squelching, oozing mud. Between my toes.

I was dreading having to do it. It was one of the things on my list that I really thought I could do without. But now I would tell everyone – take off your shoes and walk through mud puddles. Do it now, do it tomorrow. There is something primal and elemental about walking in the mud barefoot.

# 8 of 101 Walk barefoot in the mud

2 Responses to “Puddles & Mud”

  1. Pop May 7, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Mud, glorious mud. I am glad that I did not have to clean the car after this outing!! Great pictures Pia.

  2. wends May 7, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    I know this is very a type of me but I just cant even look at the photos as lovely as they are 🙂 mud , wet , child aaaarrrhhh. you should see me at the dinner table wiping up.
    It looks chilly there. enjoy your splashing
    x

Leave a Reply

