Grrrr…. is for Grumpy

29 Apr

Three Things

  1. My Laptop stopped working
  2. My ipod stopped working

Those two, on their own, enough to send me over the edge… then my son does this to me:

When driving home this weekend, he leans over and rubs me appreciatively along my arm and side. (Have I mentioned my child’s affection?? It is beyond bizarre. It is both inexplicable and incredible that the offspring of two decidedly stand-offish, emotionally distant parents is a positive fountain of emotional expressiveness. It must be a recessive gene.)

Anyway, I digress. My child rubs me and, as he is wont to do, declares how much he loves me, and rubs me again. I say: “Thank you my baby – that’s a lovely rub”. To which he replies “no, it’s not a lovely rub, it’s a blubly rub” (I also need to mention that my baby has a speech problem we are trying to sort out). So I ask: “what do you mean – a blubly rub?”. He rubs me again along my side and tummy to demonstrate: “not a lovely rub mummy, a blubly rub”, and the meaning sinks in.

Not a lovely rub. A bumpy  rub – commentary on my fat rolls. The little snot.

So,

  1. laptop
  2. ipod
  3. bumpy

= G.R.U.M.P.Y.

2 Responses to “Grrrr…. is for Grumpy”

  1. caroline April 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    Lol this was hysterical! Leave it to our kids to take us down a notch! But hey, a rub is a rub, blubly or not 😉

  2. wends April 29, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    oh hilarious. dont you love kids honesty. at least you have your rub to make you feel better xx

Leave a Reply

