#61 of 101 – Oh, ye of little faith…

18 Apr

Whenever I mentioned to someone what I was going to do this morning, I didn’t get many encouraging responses. The most common response was a gentle we’ll-see-eyebrow-raise with an occasional more daring she’ll-never-do-it-roll-of-the-eyes. I don’t think anyone (who knows me) believed that I would get up this morning at 6:00am (bleh!) and pull on my running/walking shoes.

But that’s exactly what I did! It was cold, dark and way too early (practically the middle of the night, people). But I put on my walking gear and made my way to the Belville Velodrome for this:

It’s the “Most beautiful Road Race” because only women are allowed to enter. (Men are tolerated and can take part if they dress in drag, any other man is disqualified). Let me stress, I did NOT want to do it. My cosy warm bed was where I wanted to be. But I made a committment on that bloody list of mine and I promised I would be there. So I was there. And it was wonderful.

The day was crisp and clear and cool (unlike me at the end!). There wasn’t a breath of air and we got to see the sunrise on the way to the venue. The dawn drive through the vineyards to get there was worth the cold, cruel 6:00am wake-up!

The race itself was a lot of fun and there were over 16,000 entrants which included plenty of men in drag who kept us entertained along the route. Considering that I started complaining about a sore toe on the way to the starting line and had my exit strategy all mapped out in my head, I surprised myself by finishing the 5km in exceedingly high spirits.

And, best of all, I got one of these:

(excuse the grainy photo, my flash was warping in the mirror, so this was the best I could do without flash)

2 Responses to “#61 of 101 – Oh, ye of little faith…”

  1. Caroline April 19, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    Congratulations!! Waking up earlier is one thing, but to exercise is another! Give yourself two pats on the back! Wish I had known about it as I would have joined you xxx

  2. dhewitson May 6, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    That is awesomelyfrigginbloodyamazing! Woweee! SO proud of you! I came across a blog the other day, to which I accidentally subscribed (no, I don’t know how I did it), and whose posts I receive I hardly ever read, but I read this one the other day, and I must say I was inspired. She’s called FatGirlEats, and she’s started running, using the Couch25K (couch to 5 km) programme. Of course, you no longer need it, since you’ve just done 5 km, but I’m figuring I do.

Leave a Reply

