Little Old Man

9 Mar

Let’s face it… I’m never gonna win the mom of the year award.

This morning, I remembered with about 5 minutes to spare, that Adam had to dress up as an old man for school.

It was the school’s 75th anniversary and they had to dress up to celebrate.

After scrambling around, I managed to put together this “outfit”. Hey, it was 5 minutes… and we were still late!

He REFUSED. REFUSED. REFUSED to let me paint on any kind of a beard or mustache.

REFUSED.

Wouldn’t carry the newspaper into class. Wouldn’t even walk into class. Was most put out that I dared to try and dress him differently. Wouldn’t sit with all the other “old men” for a photo. Totally unimpressed with his mother this morning.

It’s time I faced the fact that my son is not going to have an adventurous spirit. Along with “strong-willed”, the word I hear most from his teachers is “sensitive”. (see photo above – he’s giving me a flower. He picks me one almost every day). But, no matter how much I try and encourage boldness and fearlessness, his innate cautiousness always kicks in. Or is it just his “strong-willed” aspect kicking up dust for the hell of it…?

All I know is that you can’t force, coerce or convince him to do anything that he doesn’t want to do.

And if looks could kill…

Yup, no mommy awards for me today…

2 Responses to “Little Old Man”

  1. sleepyjane March 10, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    He’s so freaking adorable. Even if he looks super unimpressed!! haha

  2. iluvgreen March 10, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    adam is so adorable. Maybe he will change in time. You’re a good mom Pia. I think that is most common problem of every mom, they are having difficulty to convince their children to do something they dont want to do, but that doesnt mean you are not a good mom.

Leave a Reply

