Caution, Meet Wind…

7 Mar

Even though my dare/challenges only officially start tomorrow, in the spirit of “do something that scares you”, I conquered one of my fears today.

We are having a heat wave in Cape Town at the moment (it is topping 35 degrees as I write this). Today was one of those glorious days with no wind and an enveloping, baking heat. One of those days where the only sensible place to be is at the beach (or in a freezer).

We went to the beach. And the beach was p.a.c.k.e.d. Normally I would sit and envy all the people swimming in the waves. I would get my toes wet, but not much more. Not wanting to expose my white wobbly bits, I would have sat on the sidelines, wishing I was out in the water.

Today, I thought about it, and then threw caution to the wind. I stripped down to the white wobblies and waded out into the water. In front of a p.a.c.k.e.d. beach.

***There’s the wind, and there’s caution flying in it***

Those waves in the photo up there? … I swam in those waves. And it was freezing. And it made my arms and legs numb.

And it was wonderful.

I hope you still feel small when you stand beside the ocean,
Whenever one door closes I hope one more opens,
Promise me that you’ll give faith a fighting chance,
And
when you get the choice to sit it out or dance. 

Dance….  , I hope you Dance!

~Lee Ann Womack

3 Responses to “Caution, Meet Wind…”

  1. Caroline March 7, 2010 at 9:51 pm #

    Never let wobbly bits deter you from having fun. The truth is no-one on that packed beach even noticed – they were all too busy worrying about their own wobbly bits!

  2. Wends March 8, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    wow. so I come on here and have a million things to read. what happened girl? I am glad to see you back and your lists. well they are long and fabulous. I can only relate to my life. although its different to yours in many ways , I too live in the future. the when this happens I will be happy. I stopped doing that a while ago and whilst I have my goals I never forget to live the life I am living now. I wish you luck and look forward to sharing your triumphs as you tick them off.
    Re the wobbly bits , I second what caroline said. no one notices. too busy worrying about theirs. I reckon never let anything as silly as a bit of flab put you off having fun.
    xxx

  3. Ronnie March 11, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Forgive my language but Fuck me that’s brave!!! I am also the sit on the beach and wish I was in the water girl, for obvious reasons. But, I’m inspired.. wait, maybe not quite inspired.. but tempted for sure. I think it is awesome that you did that – go you!

Leave a Reply

