#45 of 1001

7 Mar

I have just re-read my spur-of-the-moment lists that I created and comitted to. And I am a little freaked out. And just a tiny bit intimidated by some of them. What was I thinking…?

Anyway…

As I am typing this, I am getting ready to cross off something off my list. As I am typing this, it is the hottest night of the summer. The house is like a sauna. But I have a gentle breeze blowing over me. The night is sweet and cool and precious.

And I am sleeping outside.

Here are the stars, not the best photo, but they are there… I promise! If you look carefully, you will see Orion’s Belt (3 stars in a row)

My son is lying spread eagled next to me and went to sleep counting stars and reveling in the novelty of setting up a bed outside. Sorry about the fuzzy photo – it was hand held and it’s dark dammit!!

I am about to take him inside to sleep in his bed. Also, I hear thunder… so maybe I won’t be out here for much longer.

Yup, there’s lightning. The air is taking on the scent of a thunderstorm… it is incredible!! I can’t help thinking that I would have missed all of this if I had decided to spend the night indoors.

Oops, more lightning and thunder. I guess I can’t cross it off if I don’t actually sleep? Ah, well… next time!

Summer is the time when one sheds one’s tensions with one’s clothes, and the right kind of day is jeweled balm for the battered spirit.  A few of those days and you can become drunk with the belief that all’s right with the world.  ~Ada Louise Huxtable

 

(p.s. I’m now indoors and we are having an awesome thunderstorm. I am literally awestruck. The beauty of this day and night is incredible)

One Response to “#45 of 1001”

  1. sleepyjane March 8, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Oh wow. I love this! My parents never did anything like that with us, it’s such a novelty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

