Life is Either a Daring Adventure or Nothing

6 Mar

(Hellen Keller)

I am tired of living half my life. I know that my life is happening right now, whether I am present to it or not.

I may be sitting here, making plans, dreaming and hoping about the future. But in all that dreaming and hoping and planning, there is one crucial factor that I have ignored… [That life] is the future and hasn’t happened yet (or may not even happen). The only life I have to live is the moment I am in right at this very moment.

I want to make this moment the very best possible one I can. I don’t want to look back in 3 days, 3 months or 3 years and regret not living each and every moment. I want to take risks, be passionate, be excited, challenge my comfort zones… I want to live my best possible life.

This moment is as perfect as it is going to get. I want to embrace it. Love it. Savour it. I want this moment to be the embodiment of the future that I am hoping for, wishing for and dreaming of.

That’s not to say that life is not complicated or hard. But now I want to choose my attitude in the challenging times. I want to choose my outlook and create my future right now. I can choose to stay stuck in the moment, or I can choose happiness, passion and excitement.

I choose to risk it. I choose to live my best life.

To help me along in my living, I have created a list of things to do. With two deadline dates.

In the spirit of making this blog about #7 (see post below), I will be posting each time I cross something off the list and sharing all my stories as I make by way through the list.

Any and all encouragement welcome. Because even though most of the things on the list are relatively simple to do, the majority of them scare the shit out of me…

🙂

Here’s to being fearless!!

“To me, Fearless is not the absence of fear. It’s not being completely unafraid. To me, Fearless is having fears. Fearless is having doubts. Lots of them. To me, Fearless is living in spite of those things that scare you to death. Fearless is falling madly in love again, even though you’ve been hurt before. Fearless is getting back up and fighting for what you want over and over again…even though every time you’ve tried before, you’ve lost. It’s Fearless to have faith that someday things will change. Fearless is having courage to say goodbye to someone who only hurts you, even if you can’t breathe without them. And when someone apologizes to you enough times for things they’ll never stop doing, I think it’s Fearless to stop believing them. It’s Fearless to say “you’re NOT sorry”, and walk away. I think loving someone despite what people think is Fearless. I think allowing yourself to cry on the bathroom floor is Fearless. Letting go is Fearless. Then, moving on and being alright…That’s Fearless too. But no matter what love throws at you, you have to believe in it. You have to believe in love stories and prince charmings and happily every after. Because I think love is Fearless.” ~ Taylor Swift

One Response to “Life is Either a Daring Adventure or Nothing”

  1. Caroline March 7, 2010 at 9:38 pm #

    Someone once told me it was ‘ok for you as you’re fearless’ and my response was similar to the quote at the end of your post. You have to confront those fears head on and live fully, despite them. You will become stronger inside each time you overcome one.
    I encourage you to push yourself further and to live the words you have written here. My wish for you is that you do reach your full potential and through it lead a fulfilled and happy life.

Leave a Reply

