For the love of words

8 Oct

I love books. His dad loves books. It’s no wonder that my son loves books too.

But is it nature or nurture?

He gets taken to the library every weekend to choose his books for the week (never mind the boat load that he has at home). He gets books read to him every night – anywhere from half an hour to an hour of stories.

Today my son and I spent a wonderful, companionable hour or so in Exclusive Books. Both of us with bums on the floor, looking at books.

Then, this afternoon, I put him down for a nap at about 2:00 – with free access to all his books. He “read” out loud to himself for about 45 minutes and then paged through books (I could hear the pages turning) until about 4:00. That’s two hours all on his own – just him and his books.

Of course, mommy was also on her bed – reading her own book in stunning peace and quiet.

Nature or Nurture?

I wish I knew. Either way, I am not complaining!

6 Responses to “For the love of words”

  1. Caroline October 8, 2009 at 10:24 pm #

    A bit of both I think…

    What a pleasure! Amy is also a bookworm and I must say I do think it is a wonderful quality to encourage in a child as it helps with language development, concentration, creativity and the use of imagination (something often lacking in kids growing up in this day and age).

    Just want to say I am SO GLAD you have posted again!!

  2. Fiona October 10, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    There is no better way to give your children a love for reading that reading to them and being excited about buying books or going to the library. When Lily was just a twinkle in her daddy’s eye, I still always gravitated to the childrens books to see all the new and wonderful stories that people produce. Both Wendy and Andrew are avid readers and I know they spend many hours reading to Lily. Too few parents read to their children today and it is such a shame. Lovely to have you back blogging. Missed you!

  3. sleepyjane October 10, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    I think it’s sad that not more parents cultivate a love of books in their children from an early age. So kudos to you. 🙂

  4. sandra green October 12, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    The debate continues, Nature or Nurture. I am an avid reader and read all the time to my children. While Caroline likes reading ( when she has the time) Richard does not read anything longer than his horoscope. Yet he is very verbal, reads out loud well and has an excellent vocabulary. But he just does not read for the sheer joy of it, something which has always disappointed me. I feel a new post coming on!

  5. odette November 2, 2009 at 2:18 pm #

    not a lot of kids like books these days, what with computer games and all. i think it’s very special that adam loves books! i can imagine the sweetness of him on his bed surrounded by his books. ^-^

  6. book lover November 13, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    My mum loves books, I love books, my sister loves books. My brother and my father both loathe books. Nature or nurture? I don’t know!

Leave a Reply

