Lights Will Guide You Home

10 Sep

My child just threw up. All over me, all over the couch and all over himself. Not that any of that bothers me in the slightest. I don’t mind the sick and I don’t mind cleaning it up. What I do mind is having to see my child vulnerable and in pain… and being helpless to make it better.

But this is the job we take on as parents. We have to stand by and watch our children vulnerable, sick or in pain. And we do our best to help them through it, but most of the time there is nothing we can do except hold them when they are in pain and give them a safe place to fall when they are vulnerable.

When I was pregnant “fix you” by Coldplay was getting airplay and it reduced me to tears every time I heard it. It still does. It speaks to me on so many levels. But, being pregnant at the time, I have always interpreted it from the viewpoint of a parent. For me it is about the unconditional love of a parent. About how you never stop caring for your children, no matter how old they are or how far they stray from the path. About how the pain felt by the child is felt as keenly by the parent. Forever.

It is knowing that your children will face these pains and hardships in the future. We have all faced them ourselves at some point along the journey – they are rites of passage. We have all felt that pain and cried those tears. So as parents, the best that we can do is to let our children go – knowing that they have these trials to live through and figure out on their own. Our job is to let them go, but to also leave them with lights to guide them home when life’s lessons are too hard.

Coldplay have referred to it as one of the most important and emotional songs that they have ever written and, whatever the real meaning, I agree.

 

“Fix You”

When you try your best, but you don’t succeed
When you get what you want, but not what you need
When you feel so tired, but you can’t sleep
Stuck in reverse

And the tears come streaming down your face
When you lose something you can’t replace
When you love someone, but it goes to waste
Could it be worse?

 Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you

And high up above or down below
When you’re too in love to let it go
But if you never try you’ll never know
Just what you’re worth

 Lights will guide you home
And ignite your bones
And I will try to fix you 

Tears stream down your face
When you lose something you cannot replace
Tears stream down your face
And I…

3 Responses to “Lights Will Guide You Home”

  1. Caroline September 10, 2009 at 9:39 pm #

    Pretty emotional stuff. *sob*

    I know just what you mean. Amy is sick at the moment and I have been distraught – it is the only time I really feel afraid and vulnerable.

    And the worst is knowing that one day we won’t be there to take their pain away.

  2. Nanee September 11, 2009 at 8:41 am #

    Beautifully written. Madonna once said our children are our hearts walking around with arms and legs and that resonates with me. When they hurt we hurt more xxx

  3. Veronica September 12, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    I am a huge Coldplay fan and love that song – as far as I’m aware – it was written for his child/ren. I also see it from that point of view. I too have a very sick child at the moment that I am battling with. There is nothing worse than when they are all dopey and floppy like that – it’s scary!!! Here’s hoping all our beautiful kiddies get better very quick.
    ps You are one of the moms that I admire the most and as I said in your previous post – you have done and are doing an amazing job with Adam!

Leave a Reply

