Photojournalism

10 Jul

I am having h.u.g.e. issues with my blog at the moment. Which is not a good thing. Not good in the slightest. In the past I was able to write whatever I thought or felt. The words flowed out of me with ease and made sense. I loved it.

These days I have many posts that I think of writing, but I stop short of getting them out because I don’t want other people to read what I am thinking and feeling. The words are there, but the flow has disappeared. Is that a straight-jacket I smell?

It is so tempting to move my blog to a secret invitation-only location. I could yap, yap, tap, moan, bitch and complain to my heart’s desire. But I am resisting that move with every fibre of my being. It smacks of not standing up for yourself and your life. I want to get back to a place of “this is me – like it or lump it”. And by lump it, I mean, go away and stay away. 

So, while I go slightly mad trying to figure out what I ‘want’ to say vs. what I ‘need’ to say vs. what I ‘should’ say, please bear with more photojournalism. This time from Gloria Bay.

I was trying to catch the flowers in the sun. Photographers call it backlighting. I call it bloody irritating when you can’t get it right and breathtakingly beautiful when you you do. Beauty makes my heart sing, and I love trying to capture it with a camera.

closing copy

beauty copy

The view – a bee’s eye view.

view copy2

And my favourite sleeping beauty:

sleepadch copy

5 Responses to “Photojournalism”

  1. Jeanette July 10, 2009 at 8:47 pm #

    Don’t dare stop!! Nothing wrong with photos when you’re stuck 🙂

  2. JavaQueen July 11, 2009 at 11:47 am #

    Oh Pia, these pics are LOVELY! I especially love the first, and the last 🙂 I guess I stopped writing for myself and started writing for others which is why I stopped. I need to get back to writing, even if it’s just about the laundry mountain in my house. It will bore others to tears, but it’ll make me feel better to bitch about it! So, I needed to read this!

  3. pinkyspages July 11, 2009 at 1:53 pm #

    Hi Pia, I absolutely love looking at pics and your pics are always great! I’ve always love reading your blog because of your honesty (straight talk = no insult 😉 … don’t ever stop being you 🙂

  4. Caroline July 12, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    Keep writing honey. I recently heard that the greatest obstacle to success/happiness/fulfillment is giving a sh#t about what other people think. It is a hard one to get around if you are a people pleaser, which I tend to be, but very liberating when you succeed. Don’t worry about people reading your blog. If they keep visiting it, then it is their fault if they don’t like what you are writing. Yes, perhaps it makes you emotionally vulnerable to publish your deepest thoughts and feelings online, but it also gives you a sense of release and is cathartic. But it is totally your call. Until you decide, keep posting the great pics. xxx
    PS: I LOVE the last one of Adam – defnately one to frame

  5. odette July 15, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    i am soooo in love with your pictures!
    ever considered selling your prints? with etsy perhaps? i love love your style!

Leave a Reply

