Funday Thursday

18 Jun

You will have to excuse me. I am going to lay off hot and heavy a.k.a.deep and emotional on this blog for a while. I will eventually get back into the swing of blogging the nitty gritty of my life. But you will have to put up with my photo journalism blogging for the interim.

Every Thursday is my day with Adam. I love Thursdays. Because, being the dim-whitted short-sighted nit-wit that I am, Adam sees his father every (f#cking) Saturday and Sunday. This leaves me with very little time to myself with Adam. So Thursdays are my gold dust. We always try and do something interesting and exciting for little boys.

Today we took him to experience the new water taxi trip from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) to the V&A Waterfront. We parked in the city centre and hopped onto the boat. It took us all the way along the canal from the CTICC through the residential Marina, past the new One & Only Hotel and dropped us off at Quay4. It was the most stunning experience. We went under bridges and through locks and gates. Pure heaven for little boys!!

adboat

In a flash of pure brilliance, I remembered to take my camera with me… but forgot to carge the battery or insert the memory card… absolute genius. Luckily Pop had his camera with him and I managed to highjack it for a while.

We got to see a side of the Waterfront that is seldom seen by the general public. For a while I thought I was cruising through the French Riviera.

IMG_2723 copy

‘Excuse me while I moor my yacht at my private jetty…

IMG_2717 copy

Adam was fascinated with the lock section that took us down from the Residential Marina into the Harbour itself. We watched the gates open and the lock fill with water. He was transfixed by the whole process which actually took quite a long (long) time. The lock had to be filled with water before we could go through, and then we had to wait for it to empty down before we could exit into the harbour basin. All very thrilling for little people and big people alike… Seriously… it was all very interesting!!

Photo below is the lock that had to be filled before we could go through.

IMG_2690

It is such a privilege to live in Cape Town and be able to play tourist whenever you like. The V&A Waterfront has grown up with me. As a small girl, all that it consisted of was 2 small pubs on opposite sides of the harbour. The rest was dirty, smelly, ugly and generally unpleasant. Today it is a glamorous, fabulous, spectacular vision. A haven for the rich and famous and a truly beautiful place. I am awed by how far it has come. Awed and proud. It shows me that South Africa and her people are truly capable of achieving anything.

5 Responses to “Funday Thursday”

  1. Jeanette June 18, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    Oh how very cool! Have to take the kids to CT again, that looks like fun

  2. pinkyspages June 20, 2009 at 9:56 pm #

    So much has changed in CT since we left. Will def put this on my ‘TO DO’ list when visiting in future! Looks great. Adam is an absolute cutie 🙂

  3. wends June 21, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

    That is on my to do list def. Lily and I would love that . we love boats.
    Adam is adorable you can just see his sensitivity in his face. I just want to give him a big old hug
    xx

  4. Poppop June 24, 2009 at 10:04 am #

    I can only add to what you have already said. It was a great experience for young and old alike. The lock is one of a kind and a great piece of engineering. The whole V and A is stunning and I never tire of visiting it. I look forward to next Thursday.

  5. sandra green June 28, 2009 at 11:32 pm #

    What fun! It reminds me so much of the things we used to do with our kids when they were little. They still remember. Making memories is a wonderful thing and a priceless gift to your children. Your description of the lock brought back memories of a holiday we had in France when our kids were much older..Richard was in Std !0. We did a boating holiday on a canal in France and we had to pass through no fewer than 30 locks! I was terrified at first, having no faith in my husband or my son, but soon got quite blase about the whole process! Can’t wait to do your trip with my family!

Leave a Reply

