Cheetah Outreach

22 Mar

Last Thursday we took Adam to see the Cheetah Outreach. We’ve taken him to the zoo before, and he was non-plussed, so I didn’t have high expectations for this visit. I have always adored cheetahs, so I think that this visit was more for me than him! I thought that we would be in and out within 10 minutes.

Isn’t it amazing how, just when we think we know our children, they take a sharp left turn and leave us speechless. Thursday was one such day. From the minute my child saw the cats roaming around, he was pleading to “Addy, hello kitty”, which means that the wanted to touch the cheetah and say hello. Well, after the 50th “Addy hello kitty” and frantic pulling on my hand, we finally gave in and forked over the fortune that it costs to go into the enclosure for a stroke and hello.

He was so sweet and kind and gentle with the big cat. He was so completely in awe and transfixed, I so proud of his gentle reverence for the cheetah.

dsc_0631-copy

He was absolutely mesmerised.

dsc_0625-copy

And of course, we couldn’t go home without a cheetah of his very own. The kitty was stroked and kissed and spoken to for the rest of the day. He gets carried everywhere.

dsc_0639-copy

It was pure love at first sight…

dsc_0640-copy

9 Responses to “Cheetah Outreach”

  1. Jeanette March 22, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    Awww that’s so so sweet!! Well done Mom for forking out the bucks to let him experience that.

  2. sleepyjane March 23, 2009 at 10:49 am #

    I don’t even know why this made me want to cry.

    I am such a woman. Doesn’t help that I’m a sucker for animals too. I’m loving that Adam showed such interest in the cheetah.

  3. Poppop March 23, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    I was so pleased to be a part of this experience. To watch Adam enjoying it all and to see the expressions on his face was very rewarding.

  4. Fiona March 24, 2009 at 7:45 pm #

    This child of yours stirs something deep within me every time I see his face. He is so beautiful Pia. You must be so proud of him. Beautiful photos as always. Fiona xx

  5. Fiona March 24, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

    I often comment on the photos before I read the content. I could just see though that he was absolutely enthralled with the Cheetah. His face and his gentle hands say it all. Fiona xxx

  6. wendy March 25, 2009 at 6:06 pm #

    so lovely.. the cheetahs and the beautiful adam
    xx

  7. JavaQueen March 26, 2009 at 8:11 am #

    So cool- that first pic of him petting the Cheetah- amazing…. the Cheetah looks sooo comfortable! Your son is a sweetheart!

  8. Karin March 27, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    I love that you gave him that opportunity and you can see the awe in his face as he is touching the animal. He is such a beautiful boy and that last shot you took of him is really very good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Two Birds, One Stone « Pia's Portal - April 11, 2010

    […] a chance – he was completely predisposed to be as besotted as I am. Last year, we took him to see the cheetahs and, to my (then) amazement, it was love at first sight for him. We bought him a soft toy that day […]

Leave a Reply

