Precious

11 Feb

Life is precious. Infinitely, infinitely, infinitely precious. All the shit that flies around us on a daily basis means nothing. Absolutely nothing. Those of you who have children, go find them now and give them a long hug.

I came across this sight today, quite by accident. This family had a nice, normal blog. They blogged about their baby’s first christmas and posted photos of her with her new cousin. Normal.

Then, on Jan 12th they posted that their little girl had an ear infection and was going to the doctor. Normal. Less than a month later, on 8 Feb, they posted that “Cora is with Jesus today”.

My heart breaks for this family and what they must be going through. As well as for anyone who has ever lost a child. It must be the hardest thing in the world.

You can find their story here.

6 Responses to “Precious”

  1. Caroline February 11, 2009 at 9:09 pm #

    God this is terrible and she shares Amy’s middle name. I can’t handle stuff like this but it is so good to be reminded to count our blessings. I agree, nothing can be worse than losing a child. My heart goes out to that family.
    And then you have nutters like that guy in Australia who threw his kid over a bridge. What a strange and unfair place this world can be at times.

  2. Jeanette February 11, 2009 at 10:32 pm #

    I read that blog yesterday. It very very sad.
    I’m also following a local blog about a 3yo in CT who was diagnosed with cancer on Boxing Day… http://krokkenoster.wordpress.com/ his mom is a member of a local online forum (that’s how I know about the story)

  3. sleepyjane February 12, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    That is so, so sad.

  4. Nicci February 12, 2009 at 2:53 pm #

    Have just read this story and like Caroline hate reading this kind of stuff as it brings it so close to home, tears started to well up just reading their story and imagining what it must be like. I dont even want to go there. Thank you God for what we have and the blessing of being able to have healthy children.

  5. sandra green February 16, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Just had a good cry after reading this blog site. Poor little mite, going through so much. Her parents must be heartbroken. Can’t wait to hug Amy when I see her later today.

  6. Susan February 17, 2009 at 10:13 am #

    Oh my… this is the saddest story I’ve ever read. The photos made it far too real. I’ve been crying at work (again) and everyone thinks I’m nuts… I was just saying last night (while watching a 10 year old on Grey’s go through surgery due to cancer) that I don’t know what I’d do if someone told me there was something wrong with my child. I don’t think I could deal with it. We’re so blessed to have healthy kids and I can’t WAIT to get home to hold mine in my arms. I promise, for today, not to shout once…

Leave a Reply

