Fearless

5 Feb

I hate having my photo taken. Hate it to the essential core of my being. Which is why I prefer to be on the other side of the camera. Last weekend I finally attempted a self-portrait for the first time. I have wanted to do one for ages, but could never pluck up the courage.

I chose my favourite photo and posted it on my photo blog. I thought it was quite nice. But my mom was non-plussed. She is nagging me to post a colour one. Not a fan of the monochrome, my mother.

So, here is the colour version, with a bit more than just one eye showing. Let me stress, I am posting under duress. I would rather hide. But I am trying to be fearless…

dsc_0409-copy

“To me, Fearless is not the absence of fear. It’s not being completely unafraid. To me, Fearless is having fears. Fearless is having doubts. Lots of them. To me, Fearless is living in spite of those things that scare you to death. Fearless is falling madly in love again, even though you’ve been hurt before. Fearless is getting back up and fighting for what you want over and over again…even though every time you’ve tried before, you’ve lost. It’s Fearless to have faith that someday things will change. Fearless is having courage to say goodbye to someone who only hurts you, even if you can’t breathe without them. And when someone apologizes to you enough times for things they’ll never stop doing, I think it’s Fearless to stop believing them. It’s Fearless to say “you’re NOT sorry”, and walk away. I think loving someone despite what people think is Fearless. I think allowing yourself to cry on the bathroom floor is Fearless. Letting go is Fearless. Then, moving on and being alright…That’s Fearless too. But no matter what love throws at you, you have to believe in it. You have to believe in love stories and prince charmings and happily every after. Because I think love is Fearless.”  ~ Taylor Swift

12 Responses to “Fearless”

  1. JavaQueen February 5, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    Taylor Swift? Wow, powerful words!! Words that ring so true. I love your light eyes with the dark features, it really makes them “pop”-

    If this was hard for you, then good for you for conquering another fear! And, what a bonus, you are absolutely gorgeous!

    You take great pics. You mom is right, the color is nice, but the black and white you took of just your one eye peeking out is marvelous too! Thanks for sharing.

  2. sleepyjane February 5, 2009 at 2:58 pm #

    You are gorgeous – I would kill for your eye colour!

    I hate pictures of me too – I never look like ME if it makes sense. 🙂

  3. Veronica February 5, 2009 at 3:10 pm #

    I know the feeling – I do not like being in pics, but find myself friends with a lot of people who enjoy taking a multitude of pics… can’t get out of it!!!

    This is such a beautiful pic of you – I love it!!!!!

  4. Caroline February 5, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    one word – STUNNING!!! and I love that quote xxx

  5. wendy February 5, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    You look really beautiful here Pia. your photos are just so amazing. they have something special about them.. must be the photographer.

  6. Jeanette February 5, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    Gorgeous photo!! I prefer the B&W actually. I like the more abstract self portraits, but then again, that’s my loathing of photos of myself that could cause that 🙂

  7. Suzaan February 5, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    Very, very beautiful indeed Pia, you are just gorgeous, I prefer the colour one but the B&W is also stunning, you should quit your day job and just take photo’s the whole day because you have found your vocation. I still have your lens cap.

    xxxx

  8. dhewitson February 6, 2009 at 8:44 am #

    Beautiful! Absolutely beautiful.

  9. Nicci Lamarina February 6, 2009 at 10:50 am #

    This photo is amazing, you look stunning! and love the quote by Taylor Swift. Keep following your dream.

  10. odette February 6, 2009 at 2:15 pm #

    you are lovely!
    you have beautiful eyes pia!

  11. pinkyspages February 6, 2009 at 11:00 pm #

    You look gorgeous… Hugs, xx

  12. Susan February 9, 2009 at 9:31 am #

    Like you, I tend to hide behind the camera, but realise that in years to come, it’s fun to look back. You are gorgeous and this photo is stunning – well done!!!

Leave a Reply

