For the record

31 Jan

I have been meaning to do this post since the beginning of the year. It is a rebuttal to my 2008 music in review post.

I had quite a few comments that the songs were so pop oriented. Despite the frikken disclaimer at the top. People either commented on the post or to me directly that they didn’t think I liked music like that (i.e. they thought I had better taste in music). Although one of my new resolutions is not to try and explain myself so often. I thought I would do a quick rebuttal post.

To explain… those songs in that post are all singles that strike my fancy at some point during the year. They could be a favourite for a day or the whole year. But at some point, I liked them enough to add them to my itunes. For the real analysis of my music library, it would be best to look at whole albums added, as I only get the album when I REALLY like the artist.

Closer – The Best of Sarah McLachlan
Josh Groban – A Collection
John Mayer – Continuum (LOVE this album)
Daughtry (yes, I am an Idol nut)
David Cook – David Cook (see above)
One Republic – Dreaming Out Loud
Snow Patrol – A Hundred Million Suns
James Morrion – Songs for you, Truths for me
Mamma Mia Soundtrack (of course)
Twilight Soundtrack (LOVE this one)
A Fine Frenzy – One Cell in the Sea
Keane – Perfect Symmetry
The Script
Jack Johnson – Sleep through the static
Daniel Powter – Under the Radar
Coldplay – Viva la Vida
Jason Mraz – We sing. We dance. We steal things.
John Mayer – Where the light it
The Killers – Day & Age

Goldfish – Perceptions of Pacha (SA music ROCKS!!)
Prime Circle (ditto above)
Parlotones (ditto above)
Seether (ditto above)

A very different perspective, no? (And there are many more I would love to add).

Anyway. That’s all I have to say. Except to say that I am LOVING (love, love, love) James Morrison at the moment. Broken Strings. Say no more. Listen to it, you’ll know why.

Also, did you know that Johnny Clegg has a son. Jesse Clegg. And he sings too… Lordy, I love his song “Today”. Take a Look:

5 Responses to “For the record”

  1. Sleepyjane January 31, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    You have great taste in music lady! In regard to the Twilight soundtrack – how much do you love Supermassive Black Hole?!!! I am in love with Muse. ๐Ÿ™‚ Also-Seether is my fav band! We saw them live last year and it was awesome!

  2. pinkyspages January 31, 2009 at 3:11 pm #

    Love your list… Have you listened to any “Kings of Leon” (their new album’s called, “Only by night”)???…. They R_O_C_K ๐Ÿ™‚ Hugs, xx

  3. pinkyspages January 31, 2009 at 3:13 pm #

    Also, do a search on youtube for “The Pierces” (Album called, “13 songs of love & revenge” … I lovesit!)

  4. pinkyspages January 31, 2009 at 3:15 pm #

    Oh (and I promise I’ll stop after this one ๐Ÿ˜‰ LOVE JAMES!!! I was crushed when I couldn’t get tickets to his concert! Ironically, while typing this, I’m listening to him… Enjoy your w/e ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. wendy February 2, 2009 at 11:42 pm #

    I am with you musically Pia. I always find it so wierd that ppl gt so hot under the collar and opininated about music. I just have to mention one ( only 1) take that song that I like and all hell breaks loose. I too love james morrison
    xx

Leave a Reply

