Pia’s 2008 Music Awards (The PMA’s)

2 Jan

**disclaimer 1 – I only have time to listen to mainstream pop radio, so don’t bug me about the pop-flava**

**disclaimer 2 – not the most interesting post in the world, just more me ordering my random thoughts than anything else. sorry**

I love my iTunes. (Me and my iTunes, we’re like thisssss – insert two-finger clip-art). I have been having a bit of a 2008 music retrospective today. Checking out what I played and listened to the most over the last 12 months. And with most of the year spent with my tongue tied, music featured heavily in my day-to-day meanderings. Here is how it all panned out for me

Runaway Favourite Of The Year (and pretty high up on my all time fav. list too)
Viva la Vida – Coldplay
Coldplay never fail to impress me, but this song is (in my humble opinion) their best ever. I love, love, love, love it. I can listen to it again and again and never tire of it. I think it’s the bells. Haven’t got a clue what they are singing about (and I don’t care) which makes it even more impressive that it is my runaway hit of the year (cause I am generally lyric-verskrik).

Most Notable Artist of The Year
Chris Brown
Let’s face it, I like anything this guy does. Whether it’s a schmultzy duo with Jordin Sparks “No Air” or my favourite “Forever”. Or “Kiss Kiss” or “Superhuman“. I am starting to think that he is superhuman.

Other Songs For Honourable Mention (** = runners-up for favourite of the year)
Madonna – 4 minutes (gotta love that JT too)
The Script – Man who can’t  be moved
Beyonce – If I were a Boy
Neyo – Closer **
Neyo – Miss Independent
Human – The Killers **
John Mayer – Say
Rihanna – Disturbia
One Republic – Apoligize

Just kiff/cool/kick-ass Tunz
Sam Sparrow – Black & Gold
Estelle and Kanye – American Boy
Jason Mraz – I’m Yours
Sara Bareilles – Love Song
Adele – Chasing Pavements
Katy Perry – I kissed a Girl
Gwen Stefani – Early Winter
Jennifer Hudson  – Spotlight
Craig David – Insomnia
Pink – So What
Sweet about me – Gabriella Cilmi

Entries for “Soundtrack to the Movie of my Life”

  • Beyonce – Single Ladies (Put a Ring on it)… sing it with me now: “if you like it, then you shoulda put a ring on it..”
  • Jordin Sparks – Tattoo
  • Jordin Sparks – One Step at a Time
  • Daughty – Over You …“and now I’m picking up the pieces from spending all of these years putting my heart back together”
  • NeYo – Miss Independent… please find me the guy who finds an independent woman attractive
  • One Republic – Apologize… “it’s too late to APOLO-GIZZZE”
  • Katy Perry – Hoy & Cold… (You. Yes YOU. You know this is for you).
  • Shayne Ward – Damaged

Kudos for Never Saying Die (Dead heat tie for first place)
New Kids on the Block, Take That, Westlife, Backstreet Boys
(I am embarrassed to admit that I *kind-of* enjoyed “summertime”, “greatest day”, “something right” and “helpless when she smiles”. Maybe I am just a hopeless teeny-bopper at heart)

Gold Star Award for ‘making me look’
Taylor Swift – Love Song
I just couldn’t take the hype anymore and had to check this chick out (SA radio has generally ignored her). And I was faintly pleased with what I found. Not bad for a country chick.

Biggest Let-down of the Year
David Cook – Light On
The song wasn’t bad, but let’s face it… not what I expected it to be. Where did my hot rocker go?

Biggest Surprise of the Year
David Archuletta – Crush
DavidC may have won idols but this little DavidA certainly beat him in the pop charts. Surprisingly enjoyable little pop ditty from the little David.

 

And that’s all I have to say.

4 Responses to “Pia’s 2008 Music Awards (The PMA’s)”

  1. Brenda January 3, 2009 at 7:49 pm #

    I agree with some of your selections but yeah, it’s too pop for me. Now you admit in your intro that you only listen to pop so why did you say in David Cook’s blurb “Where did my hot rocker go?” You don’t listen to rock so I don’t think he was ever your “hot rocker”. And I would hope that Archuleta, who oozes pop, would beat him up on the “pop charts”. Archie’s pop and David’s rock and Cook is killing him on the rock charts soooooo. Also, Cook’s first single went platinum over a month ago and his new album is gold after 4 weeks and almost platinum. Just keepin’ it real from a Rock Chick…

  2. Fiona January 4, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    David A should have won pop idol in my opinion. David C was cool and older, but that DA was the best, he gave me goosebumps!!! I love your number 1 that makes me turn the radio up to max!!! Love Fiona xx

  3. wendy January 4, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

    You know you would get on so well with kristian as you both have such a love of music. granted the pop idol stuff wold be a sticking point for you and you woyld have to hear a LOT of radiohead waffle but a love of music is a love of music.
    My latest love is that beyonce Im just a boy one. Love it and Im there with you on the coldplay one. def one of the best ever.
    enjoyed that..
    oh and hes a hot rocker because that was his persona person above…
    xx

  4. Caroline January 5, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    I love posts about music and agree that Viva la Vida is a really great song. I love ‘No Air’ and am actually very into Neyo at the moment (even though I never would have admitted that a while ago). Rock and alternative music comes first on my list, but some funky pop music to hum along with or to lift your mood, always goes down well. I received the latest Snow Patrol CD for Christmas and am enjoying that as (apart from U2) they are my absolute favourite band.
    HAPPY LISTENING
    XXX
    PS: interesting that Brenda says you don’ like Rock, as I remember listening to quite a few rock bands with you in our youth! In fact you were the one who introduced me to some 😉

Leave a Reply

