Hello 2009

1 Jan

Howzit 2009. I’m looking forward to getting to know you. Although so far we have gotten off to a bit of a rocky start. If those tantrums today were anything to go by, my child doesn’t seem to think much of you either. Good thing I’m not one of those first-impression kind of gals. Otherwise I would have been packing you off to the returns counter already. Mind you, after the kind of shite 2008 threw at me, I am betting that you can only be an improvement.

2009, I would really appreciate it if you could help me along a little this year. I struggled a bit with 2008 – I fumbled around in the dark for too long and ended up in a place I never thought I would ever be. Please be a little stronger for me than 2008 was. I just need a little helping hand every now and then – a pat on the back and an atta-girl every now and again would go down really well.

Instead of a wish list of what I want from our relationship this year, I have put together a visual presentation. I am a little OTT that way. You’ll get used to it. Here is what I expect from you in the next 12 months:

pias-collage-copy

Okay, so I know some of them are a little blah, blah, same-old, same-old. I know I ask to eat healthier, lose weight and get fit every year, but this year I really feel like you could deliver on that front. I am feeling a real connection there. Then there are the other obvious ones. Like: please make me a better photographer so that people actually want to pay me money to take photos. Okay, so they did pay me in 2008, but I was kinda hoping for more cash this year. I put in a few pics of notes and coins and stuff (edited to add: pics are of SA Rands – should I have rather tried my luck with Dollars or Pounds? Just so there’s no confusion: where possible, Pounds would be SO totally better than Rands). Also, if you give me more cash, I swear I will save some of it (see that cute piggy bank??). But you gotta come to the party and give me the cash first okay??

Then, I would really like some time to get around to reading all those books that 2008 gave me. Just some time for reading – that would be cool. Just every now and then – I’m not asking for whole chunks of your time. I don’t think that’s too unreasonable – do you?? There is also a whole lotta stuff about meditation and yoga and beach walks and watching the sunset. Do you think you could find the time to do these things with me? I’d really appreciate the moral support.

Oh, yeah, and the lovey-dovey photos. The white dress and all that. I just put that there ’cause you never ever know? And you gotta be in it to win it. So if I don’t throw it out there, I’m not really giving you a chance to throw it back at me am I? Same goes for the surfer chick. I think I would shit myself if I was ever in front of a wave that size. But a girl’s gotta aim high.

And those divinely neat and ordered shelves? That’s not just my cupboard that I want to look like that. It’s my whole house. That includes the kitchen, my child’s room, the garage and my car. Just so that there is no confusion.

Right, now that I have the groundrules and expectations out of the way, I can say that it has been an honour to know you these past few hours and I look forward to a successful working relationship in the future.

Let’s kick butt together!!

Yours sincerely,
Pia

6 Responses to “Hello 2009”

  1. JavaQueen January 2, 2009 at 9:13 am #

    You are so darn clever! Love how you wrote this to the New Year!!! The collage is great too- why didn’t I think of this?!!!!!

    Good luck to you in all you to Pia!
    xoxoxoxo

  2. Fiona January 2, 2009 at 1:41 pm #

    Pia, I am going to nominate you for “Blogger of the Year” that is for 2009 hey so you are off to a good start. Just keep up this type of blogging and you will win hands down. As for the photography, I cannot see how you can get any better, I just looooove your photos and I would pay you to take photos of any of my loved ones with no hesitation – Kim Mitchell is my neighbour and she is so busy and judging by the cars that pull up she charges a lot!!! – as for the rest of your collage just make sure that whatever it is you decide to do on the diet/exercise front it is something you love like your photography and you will succeed (that is my advice to myself this year) so I am going to dance – barefoot !!! as that is what I love most. Fiona xxxx

  3. Nanee January 2, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    🙂 🙂 🙂 so very well written and so darn original!! You brightened my day but then you always do…!!

  4. wendy January 3, 2009 at 10:57 am #

    Hello Pia and welcome back. I know you have been back a while but I have been indisposed due to the germs that roam england and my pea sized immune system!
    How great to have all you lovely posts to read. I wish you all those things for 2009. brilliant as usual. You should try to write as well as take your gorgeous photos. Loved your christmas tradition as you can imagine as well as you pic with the red bauble but my fav pic so far iis the one of adam and bob and co at the waterfront….. can we fix it?………………yes we can!!!!!

  5. dhewitson January 3, 2009 at 12:44 pm #

    Not for you the spoeg n plak! No stumbling through a bedroom strewn with magazines, ripped out pages, tiny shreds of paper. Not for you searching under the duvet for where that damn Prit has got to this time. No tucking into bed at night, only to find the cold steel of a pair of scissors at your feet. No. You’re just way too smart for that! (Hope you have a fabulous birthday!)

  6. Caroline January 5, 2009 at 11:16 am #

    great post Pia and i love your collage. Hope 2009 is everything you need, want and wish it to be xxx

Leave a Reply

