Trying to Focus

28 Dec

adams-globe-copy

As you may have guessed, I love taking photographs where there is one thing in focus and everything else is nice and blurry and out of focus. Unfortunately, taking these photos means that you have to get your focus spot-on. Something which I only manage to get right about 10% of the time. Even in the photo above, you can see that the word “Adam” is just out of focus. For me, at the moment, it is just about the most annoying thing about taking photos. I set up everything beautifully, think I have taken a fantastic shot, and it turns out that the focus is not where it should be. 90% of the time I am sighing (euphemism) in frustration and pulling my hair out. Like in this photo below. If you look critically, you will see that the focus is on the tree branch (top left) and not on my child’s face… so frustrating I could scream.

decor

p.s. Adam got the Christmas globe from his Aunty Ronnie – isn’t it just too gorgeous?!?!

3 Responses to “Trying to Focus”

  1. Suzaan December 28, 2008 at 9:19 pm #

    Geez Pia you are way, way to critical of yourself these photo’s are absolutely, amazingly stunning, the one of Adam is beautiful beyond words.

    Keep on snapping because you can.

    xxx

  2. veronica December 29, 2008 at 9:34 am #

    Well, I am of course not a professional, but to me these pics and the one on top look utterly perfect! And I’m glad Adam loves his little decoration!

    xxx

  3. dhewitson December 29, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    You have disabled all of the focus points on your camera, haven’t you, keeping only one active? If not, then the camera will choose the tree’s branch instead of Adam’s face to focus on, purely to annoy you. Have you checked your exposure compensation setting? It looks as if it’s set to one stop, or half a stop, underexposed. (Sorry! I’m meddling!)
    Lovely pics, though.

Leave a Reply

