Blossoming

21 Dec

blossom

It turns out that I have green fingers. Who woulda thought.

(please pause while we wait for everyone to wipe the tears of laughter from their eyes…)

Okay, everyone under control? Yes, it is true. It appears that I like gardening. Not only that, gardening seems to like me. For the last 5 years (give or take) I have been slowly cultivating a wilderness of weeds in my back garden. Anyone who has ever been to my house knows this to be absolute truth. Weeds as high as your knee, as far as the eye could see (well, to the cement wall actually). I.did.not.do.gardening.

Recently, after a significant someone hightailed out of here, I took a good look around and decided to do something about the state of my wilderness. I got stuck into the weeds and many weeks later, with calloused and cracked hands, sunburn in strange places and literally blood, sweat and tears, all the weeds kindly removed themselves from my “lawn”. After much watering and fertilising and sweet talking, lo and behold, I now have green, green grass. Apparently the grass is not greener on the other side after all… aghm, yes, back to my garden…

 I learnt how to mix cement and lay bricks and built myself a rather nifty little pathway. I flanked it with wild garlic, Agapanthus and other stuff I don’t know the name of.

path

Adam and I water the garden almost every day. The Agapanthus rewarded us right away and sent up arching stems with buds on the ends. Everyday we go outside together to see how far they are and if they have opened. Adam understands that we are waiting for them to open and that because we water them they are happy and will give us a flower. We have been waiting patiently for them to open. It is all rather exciting. And today, the first one finally opened. That’s her photo at the top of the post. I feel like a proud Mama showing off her baby!!

pink

This little  pink flower above suddenly turned up on a bush I thought was dying. Apparently it is thriving. I love my garden. Again, I have to ask – who woulda thought?! I have even created a herb garden. So far I have Mint (did someone say Mojito?), Rosemary and Basil. Lavender, Lemon Verbena, Chives, Rocket and Thyme are on their way. The other day I had fresh mint in my salad and basil in my pasta. Can you credit it? Me, eating stuff I actually grew…? Oh, and I have a rose garden too.

Of course, the symbolism behind it all is pretty clear. Turning something that was once ugly into something beautiful. Watering and nurturing until you are rewarded with a perfect blossom. A spray of colour. The scent of sweetness. Even when a flower dies, a few days later you can start to see the shoots of new flowers pushing through. Growth.

Someone commented to me the other day that I seem to have blossomed in the last few months. Opened up. The correlation between me and my garden is not lost on me. Viva la Garden.

6 Responses to “Blossoming”

  1. iluvgreen December 22, 2008 at 4:50 am #

    i so love the first picture, you have a green thumb indeed. Gardening is an stress reliever so good for you dear. Take care

  2. dhewitson December 22, 2008 at 12:47 pm #

    A beautiful story. If you have ever read Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Women who run with the wolves, you may have come across a teeny little book she wrote about lying fallow. Your garden has been lying fallow for years … and that’s not always a bad thing.
    I’m so glad to see you’re not only clawing your way back, but gaining strength through the effort. And thanks for passing my pic to the Le Luurvve lady … you’re a bit of a pushover for the soppy stuff, aren’t you?!
    The pink flower is a gaura, by the way – an exceptionally tolerant and rewarding bush.

  3. Caroline December 22, 2008 at 10:31 pm #

    Your garden is looking lovely and the symbolism is so appropriate. I am dabbling in creating a herb garden at the moment and my brother believe it or not has turned into an aved gardener himself and even has a veggie patch!

  4. sandra green December 23, 2008 at 7:13 pm #

    Welcome back, via your garden, to life itself.
    Nature leads the way in a very subtle manner and one can draw all sorts of analogies from the process of gardening.
    Bloom, Pia, bloom!

  5. JavaQueen December 24, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    You take wicked cool pictures Pia! How sweet is it that you and your son can do this together? Think of what a good husband he’ll be some day when you teach him these kinds of skills? So sweet. I myself, have never been a garnder but I’m glad you found something you like to do, the anology is of course- awesome! For a “beginner” of a gardner, you sure did fantastic- your own pathway too! I love this! Maybe I’ll try a little harder this spring?

  6. Veronica December 28, 2008 at 10:20 am #

    Holy Crap where the hell have I been? Just read this with amazement, wonder and a bloody huge lump in my throat!!! Well done you!!! You’re a true inspiration!

Leave a Reply

