Summer is a One-Night-Stand Slut

19 Oct

So I am not having a good day today. Summer has pissed off and has taken my good mood with her.

A few days ago I posted 10 quotes about love and relationships. And coming to terms with them is really, really hard  – especially numbers 1, 2 and 10. Because they are so true. And their truth is damn difficult to accept. And, for me, it’s a double whammy – I have to come  to terms with these issues in two separate areas of my life. I know all the reasons why I have to let go, but it is very difficult to do.

I wrote a longer, much more detailed post earlier. But now I think I will save all the analysing and soul searching for another day and leave you with this:

“Have you ever been in love? Horrible isn’t it? It makes you so vulnerable. It opens your chest and opens your heart and it means someone can get inside and mess you up. You build up all these defenses. You build up a whole wall of armour for years, so nothing can hurt you. Then one stupid person, no different from any other stupid person, wanders into your stupid life. You give them a piece of you. They don’t ask for it. They do something dumb one day like kiss you, or smile at you, and then your life isn’t your own anymore. Love takes hostages. It gets inside of you and eats you out and leaves you crying in the darkness, so a simple phrase like ‘maybe we can just be friends’ or ‘how very perceptive’ turns into a glass splinter working it’s way into your heart, it hurts, not just in your imagination, not just in your mind. It’s a soul-hurt, a body-hurt, a real gets-inside-you-and-rips-you-apart pain.”

3 Responses to “Summer is a One-Night-Stand Slut”

  1. luvgreen October 20, 2008 at 7:32 am #

    yes you are right about falling in love and getting hurt. But the good side is, you learned the lesson and after that you came out as a new better person.

    id like to share this line from one of the episodes of sex and the city “great love is the one that shakes you to your core, after that you are never the same” .. this is true for me.

  2. Caroline October 21, 2008 at 10:55 pm #

    I just posted a comment and something went wrong!!! AAAHHHH
    Anyway, I like “love takes hostages”. It is so true. But love is the point of life. I would rather suffer the pain of heartache after having loved someone with the depths of my being than be filled with the numbness of a cold and empty heart. The comment above mentions that now you have learnt your lesson, but to me there can only be one lesson and that is to continue to love as surely as you continue to breathe, for love is the air of the soul – even if now and then you get a whiff of carbon dioxide!

  3. Sue October 22, 2008 at 9:14 am #

    Yes, summer is being a bit tarty at the moment. I mean it was hot as hell on Saturday and then it’s freezing and raining again today. WTF? I love th quote at the bottom of your post – SO true!! And, having been there and done that, I have to agree with Caz – “rather to have loved and lost then never to have loved at all”. No matter what the circumstances, it is a very physical pain that follows when you lose someone you love. Would you believe me if I told you that the raw ache you feel now will fade? The sun will shine for you again, hopefully soon!! XXX

Leave a Reply

