Channeling Mia Michaels

3 Oct

So right now, I think Mia Michaels just might be the most kick-ass woman alive. It is no secret that there is a lot brewing in my life right now. Trust me, it is simmering below the surface. I am waiting for it to all settle into the right places, and then I am gonna lay it all on you!!

So, back to Mia. (Kewel name hey Caroline??? Amy and Mia – sounds good? … but I digress). Of course, I prefer it with a “P”. ANYWAY, anyone who watches SYTYCD knows what I am on about. This chick exudes everything I wish I could be. She is smart, spiritual, centred, eloquent, a choreographer GENIUS and generally all round kiff-chick. She is nice and sweet, but demands the absolute best of people without compromise. She has no problem expressing herself when she is both pleased and pissed-off. My kinda Gal.

I found this piece of writing by her and it just added to my hero-worship. I think I need to channel Mia Michaels to make sense of this shite I am going through.

“Your reality is your reality. Your perception is your perception. Whatever your truth is, it is. Trying to understand the difference between your truth and the truth of others […] is a great challenge. How do we honestly know the difference? Go inside of yourself…

The answer lies there. There are two types of life warriors. The leaders and the followers. Being a leader requires constant seeking of one’s own truth. Being a follower is simply just believing and owning someone else’s truth. What are you? What is your beauty? What is your ugliness? What is fat? What is happy? What is perfect? What is love? What is art? What is? Your perception of your truth is what is, at this moment, in this time, and most likely ever changing. Everyone, being wired and divinely programmed differently, has their own truth. Every truth is valid and, perhaps, it’s the complete opposite of others’ truth. Does it mean it’s wrong? Nothing is right or wrong…

It just is. Right or wrong is merely just your own judgment and perception. Creating my own right and my own reality, is my truth at this time. My own vision and instincts are what makes me…me. My timing, phrasing, and choice of vocabulary is my right. What is corny or false to me could be the most brilliant thing for someone else? Seek your own truth. Stand strong in it. Know it. Own it. Follow your gut instincts and never question. Your reality is yours and your reality is perfect! Remember, my writing is my own little perception, of my own little truth inside this big vast world of billions of individual truths. Perfect. “

6 Responses to “Channeling Mia Michaels”

  1. King Kong October 3, 2008 at 9:25 pm #

    Good to have you back Pia. Have missed your blogs over the past few days. Yea, Mia is great but what about Dan?? Keep dancing. Love.

  2. Nanee October 4, 2008 at 10:56 am #

    A wise soul is our Mia – she inspires me and is rivalling Oprah as my favourite USA celeb……

  3. javaqueen October 4, 2008 at 12:17 pm #

    ok, so… WOWOWWOWO! “Every truth is valid and, perhaps, it’s the complete opposite of others’ truth. Does it mean it’s wrong? Nothing is right or wrong…”

    and my favorite, “Seek your own truth. Stand strong in it. Know it. Own it. Follow your gut instincts and never question. Your reality is yours and your reality is perfect! Remember, my writing is my own little perception, of my own little truth inside this big vast world of billions of individual truths. Perfect. “

    I’ve never heard of this writer/philosopher but wowowowow! Thanks for sharing this!

  4. Caroline October 4, 2008 at 2:41 pm #

    I love that show and think she is great as well. Never knew she could be so profound though – wise words. ps: and yes, a cool name 🙂

  5. veronica October 4, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    Gotta love Mia!!!

    Love these words and it is something that I must really take to heart because it is a concept I struggle with a lot..

    xx

  6. expensivemistakescheapthrills October 5, 2008 at 11:16 am #

    i dont know who Mia is, but she sounds kick ass.

Leave a Reply

