Weeds and Wildflowers

22 Sep

So, judging from the responses so far, no one wants photos of weeds??? Well, toughies – that’s what you’re getting. I will do the other requested posts tomorrow. Today I feel like seeing some beauty in the ordinary. Live with it people – I will attend to your needs tomorrow.

I make no bones about the fact that I am a sucker for weeds and wildflowers. I mean, I love the beauty and perfection of a rose or orchid… and I love a tulip or lily as much as any girl I know. But, deep down, I just love wildflowers. To me, there is nothing more beautiful than a haphazard bunch of hand picked flowers. And grasses and “weeds” have their own special beauty.

This weekend we took Adam to see some of the planes at the Ysterplaat airshow (these are the things a mother *loves* to do when she has a son). We actually had a wonderful time watching the planes, but, while we waited for the planes to do their stuff, I also had a wonderful time absorbed in the flowers grasses weeds all around me. (sorry guys, my camera battery died before I could take any photos of the planes).

This was our view of the airforce base. We camped alongside Canal Walk to get a good view (without paying the entry fee – cheap, I know). The Ysterplaat Airfield is behind the wall on the left. These grasses were blowing happily in the breeze – just begging to have their photo taken.

And, just a little bit to the left, the best view in the world (Table Mountain – NOT the 10 airforce helicopters!!)

One little daisy in amongst all the grasses

I just love these fluffy thingy-magigies. With their what-you-ma-call-its.
I love the way the light captures their furry bits.

These lovelies were sunning themselves in the shelter of this rock and I just couldn’t resist capturing their thingy-magigies and what-you-ma-call-its basking in the sunlight

Jack and Jill went up the hill… Jack fell down and laughed with delight at his dirty hands…

 

 “To see a world in a grain of sand
And heaven in a wildflower
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand
and eternity in an hour”
  William Blake

4 Responses to “Weeds and Wildflowers”

  1. myminiheart September 23, 2008 at 2:52 am #

    what a perfect bonding! nice view and the little daisy among the grasses is amazing, there are really simple things that gives us joy but we don’t often notice. have a good day. regards to cute little adam.

  2. Poppop September 23, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    Next year I will take you to the Spring flower and weed show, not the air show. How can a weed compare with the Grippen??? I must admit though that the pics are great but I am not sure if I believe the story of the battery going flat just when the SAAF was showing off it’s newest and most controversial purchase.

  3. javaqueen14 September 24, 2008 at 8:17 am #

    “I just love these fluffy thingy-magigies. With their what-you-ma-call-its. I love the way the light captures their furry bits”.

    Weeds in the wild can be very beautiful! And, what a funny line above! You are a hoot! Looks like a nice, relaxing time!

  4. odette September 26, 2008 at 12:42 pm #

    beautiful pictures. i love the wild too. and jack and jill. so cute!

Leave a Reply

