Wedding Aftermath

17 Aug
Well, I enjoyed myself immensely at Wendy & Kristian’s wedding – despite all anxiety to the contrary. Wendy was absolutely stunning and Kristian was the perfect image of a man in love. Don’t you just love it when a couple chokes up on their wedding vows?? (note to self: been to enough weddings now. Should know the drill. Really must take more tissues next time)

I loved the whole event. From Kristian’s mum tearing up when she saw him at the altar. To Wendy’s beautiful dress. The bagpipes. Precious Lily watching her parents declare their love. (note to self: must make sure Adam stays far away from Lily. She’s going to be a heart breaker…)

One of my favourite moments, though, was Veronica reading her selection of quotes for the bride and groom. This one really got to me. (note to self: must remember tissues as well as waterproof mascara)

“The minute I heard my first love story I started looking for you,
not knowing how blind that was.
Lovers don’t finally meet somewhere.
They’re in each other all along.”
– Rumi

**sigh**

This wedding really showed me what a soppy romantic I am. Oh, I try and deny it. Will fight you tooth and nail to deny it. But it is there. Lurking. That quote had me searching the internet for more… Don’t worry. I think (hope) I’ll get over myself soon. My moon/risingstar/settingsun (Suz – need some help here) must be in one of the water star signs. Cancer? I am a mess! Here are a few of the quotes I dug up:

“Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing,
there is a field. I will meet you there.”
– Rumi

“Can miles truly separate you from friends…
If you want to be with someone you love,
aren’t you already there?”—Richard Bach

“Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies.”—Aristotle

“For it was not into my ear you whispered, but into my heart. It was not my lips you kissed, but my soul.”- Judy Garland

“The best feelings are those that have no words to describe them….”- Michelle Hammersley

“I love you, not for what you are, but for what I am when I am with you.”- Roy Croft

**sigh, sniffle, sniffle, sigh**

I told you I was a mess.

For further evidence of the state to which I have succumbed, may I provide “state’s evidence 1” – my itunes 25 Most Played list. Now, at any other time, my top 25 would probably have had Modonna & JT, Coldplay and “I kissed a girl…” somewhere near the top. Today? What’s headlining my itunes? Joni Mitchell. I ask you with tears in my eyes. What has become of me??

I think, if you click on the image, it gives you a bigger shot. If not, here you go… Will Young. Dirty Dancing. Robbie. Fugees… Killing me softly with… Ah, never mind. Mess. Mess. Mess. You get the picture?

I know you do.

For some reason this song has the power to do strange things to me. Can anyone explain why to me???

Rows and flows of angel hair
And ice cream castles in the air
And feather canyons everywhere
I’ve looked at clouds that way

But now they only block the sun
They rain and snow on everyone
So many things I would have done
But clouds got in my way
I’ve looked at clouds from both sides now

From up and down, and still somehow
It’s cloud illusions I recall
I really don’t know clouds at all

Moons and Junes and Ferris wheels
The dizzy dancing way you feel
As every fairy tale comes real
I’ve looked at love that way

But now it’s just another show
You leave ’em laughing when you go
And if you care, don’t let them know
Don’t give yourself away

I’ve looked at love from both sides now
From give and take, and still somehow
It’s love’s illusions I recall
I really don’t know love at all

Tears and fears and feeling proud
To say “I love you” right out loud
Dreams and schemes and circus crowds
I’ve looked at life that way

But now old friends are acting strange
They shake their heads, they say I’ve changed
Well something’s lost, but something’s gained
In living every day

I’ve looked at life from both sides now
From win and lose and still somehow
It’s life’s illusions I recall
I really don’t know life at all
I’ve looked at life from both sides now
From up and down, and still somehow
It’s life’s illusions I recall
I really don’t know life at all

4 Responses to “Wedding Aftermath”

  1. Deirdre August 17, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    Oh,how embarassing … that song makes my throat close up every time!

  2. Lailaa August 17, 2008 at 10:24 pm #

    I love, love, love Joni Michell! … Hugs, xx

  3. sleepyjane August 18, 2008 at 7:20 am #

    I also like Joni Mitchell! 🙂 And I like that part of the wedding the best, when the groom sees his bride coming down the aisle. Awwww

  4. Sue August 18, 2008 at 8:22 am #

    Beautiful, I love these quotes!! Hope you’re feeling better soon and let me know when we can catch up to play camera-camera!!

    XXX

Leave a Reply

