Why I love Gloria Bay

7 Aug

As you may know, my mom and K have been building a new house out in Gloria Bay. WHERE? Gloria bay. On the Theewaterskloof Dam. WHERE? …My dear, ignorant friends…

**shaking head in despair**

Don’t worry, I’d never heard of it either. Apparently the dam is the biggest in the Western Cape and the 7th biggest in South Africa. Now you know. Oh, and it is close to

(1) Grabbouw – for my apple friends
(2) Villiersdorp – School friends now going “OH!” (say no more…)
(3) Franschoek – for all my wine lovers

got it? kinda? good. Moving on.

I love Gloria Bay. No two ways about it. Me and Gloria Bay? Soulmates from another life. Meant to be. If I could, if I had no responsibilities, I would run away there tomorrow and spend endless hours just looking out the window. All on my ownsome. Bliss.

Here are a few photos to explain why I am so smitten with this place. When we were there, it was definitely a case of “Four Seasons in One Day”. I literally only had my camera out for 24 hours…


This is the view from the front deck. I.am.not.kidding. This is the view. The sun was rising on the right. (As if you couldn’t tell).


See! I wouldn’t lie to you. This is the view from just inside the house. The sun is getting ready to set here. See what a glorious, clear day we had?


Here’s the view to the right of the house.


Here’s the view to the left. Okay the view to the left is not as spectacular as the front and right. And this is the only shot I have of it, behind Adam. But you get the idea. (the garden still needs to be laid – hence the odd rubble about).


This was our sunset.


This is what we woke up to the next morning. Lying in bed, listening to the rain beat down. I could have stayed in bed all morning. But then Adam woke up. Little selfish bugger…


Here is the view from the house the next day. Can you even see the mountains over the dam??

I’m packing my bags and running away tomorrow… who’s coming with me??

Oh, and one last photo. We went for a walk and Adam was freezing, so my mom took off her top and we put him in it. (Don’t look as me like that… I wasn’t wearing a jacket. okay!). He looked just like a mini-me version of Harry Potter.


I love that kid. I would even give up Gloria Bay for him.

4 Responses to “Why I love Gloria Bay”

  1. sleepyjane August 8, 2008 at 7:55 am #

    Oh wow. That looks devine! I would also love it!

  2. John O August 9, 2008 at 9:14 am #

    It is stunning.Your photographs have captured it’s atmosphere beautifully.Your landscape photography is incredible.Your should put a book together at some point.Undiscovered South Africa.

  3. Lailaa August 11, 2008 at 8:02 pm #

    STUNNING, stunning, StUnNiNg and Adam as gorgeous as always! Hugs, xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guess where I was this weekend!!! « Pia’s Portal - September 15, 2008

    […] same view as before… except, this time there is a […]

Leave a Reply

