Every Kind Of Stupid

24 Jun

I try. I really do. Or, at least, I used to try. Then I stopped. Now, every now and then, I try again. Only to be shot down time and time again. I must be every kind of stupid to keep trying.

You complain that I don’t talk you you. Tell you things. Twice this week, I have started to tell you something that is important to me. When your imediate reaction is either silence, a grunt or a sarcastic retort… what makes you think I want to finish the story?

Will someone please tell me… when I say “we took some interesting photos in class today”, is that not initiating a discussion? When I stop talking (and insert pregnant pause), is that not the universal sign for you to say something?

Apparently not.

Funny though – the last time I checked – that was how a conversation worked.

I get blamed for keeping things to myself. For not sharing. As far as I know, in this world, you get what you give.

5 Responses to “Every Kind Of Stupid”

  1. Family Life June 25, 2008 at 8:54 pm #

    Communication is the cornerstone of every relationship. Unfortunately it is a two way thing and I do think men generally aren’t so good at it. It is a pet hate of mine when someone pretends to be listening to what I am saying but you can see their mind is elsewhere. Grunts and sarcastic comments also don’t help. I think it is a male thing. Don’t give up on sharing your thoughts. I think you need to share these in fact, and I just hope he listens.

  2. Wendy June 25, 2008 at 9:18 pm #

    Yes I agree, communication is key. Even if we have no interest in each others hobbies or loves we should at least listen for a short time . If you love somebody its a 2 way street and you need to have an interest in each other. You are in no ways stupid. carry on trying. one day he will listen. if its soon enough is perhaps your problem. maybe some one on one time is in need. no distraction. to make all your feelings known
    xxx
    W

  3. sleepyjane June 26, 2008 at 7:41 am #

    **hugs**

  4. Nana Fi June 26, 2008 at 12:27 pm #

    Hi Pia, This made me sad, come and visit with your beautiful boy and I will try to cheer you up. You take amazing photos, so this you know but it is always nice to have encouragement from the ones you love hey? Fiona xx

  5. Sandra Green June 26, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    A brook cannot babble without rain to feed it and trees cannot dance without a breeze to stir them.
    If it means enough to you, keep on trying.
    Courage!

Leave a Reply

