No Nigella Here

23 Jun

Apologies for my self-indulgent ramblings last week. I was in a funk. I think it was the public holiday on Monday that messed with my system. As my way of begging your forgiveness I thought I would introduce you to some of my latest “discoveries”.

As those near and dear to me are well aware, I have very few culinary skills. I may enjoy eating food, but I sure hate preparing the stuff. In my never-ending quest to find food that is quick and easy to cook, I have stumbled across two winners. And I have graciously and generously decided to share my wisdom with you.

Now I know these meals won’t appeal to the vast majority of my readers, but my vegetarian soul was smitten at first sight. And they are both from the trusty giver of all food that is good (for “good” read: yummy and convenient): Woolies.

The first is a new veggie pack. But is flatters to deceive. It is not just another veggie steamer.

Read the small print… it is risotto. Yummy, creamy, divine risotto. I could eat this all day, every day. It calls itself a vegetable, it has green stuff, but then it has all that wonderful gooey risotto hiding underneath… playing hide and seek with you. Just waiting to be found. Go and have a look – you won’t be sorry!!

My second sensational discovery is the new range of Indian spice kits. They make it SO easy for you to make the most divine food without even trying. My absolute favourite is this one:

Step 1: Wonder around the shop and buy what they tell you on the back of the pack.
Step 2: Wonder home, read the ridiculously simple instructions inside. Like “stir for 2 minutes” “add spice cup 2”
Step 3: Stir a bit. Drink some wine. Simmer a bit. Drink some more wine. And open the lid to a mouthwatering pot of this:

Go forth and conquer.

xxx

3 Responses to “No Nigella Here”

  1. Wendy June 23, 2008 at 8:26 pm #

    Sometimes we all need to be self indulgent as life is a learninh curve and wgere else to vent and sort through lifes ups and downs but your very own blog:) Your path will become clearer and clearer to you I think because you are physically exploring your options.
    FOOD: this all looks divine. Risotto is a fav of mine. I like this butternut , lemon and rocket one with all this black pepper and parmesan abut I will def try that one. The indian one looks amazing. i will be off to woolies in 2 to 3 weeks time to get that. thanks
    xx

  2. Anonymous June 25, 2008 at 7:26 am #

    I think Woolies deserve a reward for the BEST Dahl ever. Even he likes it.
    Louise

  3. sleepyjane June 25, 2008 at 8:10 am #

    I *love* Woolies! They really have the most define food! Mmm.

Leave a Reply

