When is the right time?

8 Jun

When is the right time to move your child from a cot into a bed? Anyone?? Well, I too did not have a definite answer until this weekend…

On Friday Adam decided that it was time he tried to climb out of his cot on his own. I was walking down the passage when I heard a THUD from his room. Straight away I knew what had happened. I ran into his room where he was lying face down on the floor. Not making a sound. I rushed to him and (stupidly I now realise) hauled him into my arms. Of course I know that I should have first checked for injuries before moving him – but I just needed my heart to start beating again.

The silence was short lived and he soon let out an almighty wail. Much to my relief. I think it was more his dignity that was hurting than anything else. Needless to say, he now has an enormous gonk on his head. Thankfully he suffered no other ill effects.

He will now be moving into a bed ASAP. Although something tells me he won’t try climbing out again!!

3 Responses to “When is the right time?”

  1. Wendy June 9, 2008 at 10:05 am #

    Oh nooo how awful
    I knew when lily kept hitting the sides of the cot with such force. also when we went to the place with the beds ww could not get her out of them.
    poor adam
    xx

  2. purpleronnie June 9, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    Ouch! Poor guy!
    But as you say, at least now you know it’s time..

  3. sleepyjane June 9, 2008 at 12:56 pm #

    Awwwww – poor Adam!! 🙂 **HUGS** And that is a fantastic scrapbook page! 🙂 You do it digital right? Do you have any paper and glue scrapbooks?

Leave a Reply

