The way we were

21 Sep

It was a combination of a few factors that found me wondering down memory lane late last night. Firstly, I have a new printer/scanner machine and (now that my computer is fixed) I wanted to play around with it. Then, I have been promising myself revenge on Dagmar’s Facebook photos posted of me in a vile black, white and red checked outfit and finally, I wanted to pull out some photos of when I was once thin to show off at the office. Everyone here is on diet and we have been promising to bring in photos of ourselves in our thinner days to inspire us!!

So I pulled down my box of photos off the shelf, full of dust from before the digital age, and took myself back in time. First of all, can I just say how lucky most of you are that my mom has most of my photographs at her place (and that she is overseas at the moment so the photos are safe and sound for now).

The one thing that struck me last night was how good I look in all the photos. And yet, my one enduring memory of all these photographs is that, at the time, all I thought was that I looked terrible and overweight in all of them… I.would.kill.to.look.like.that.now. It’s true, you never appreciate what you have until you have lost it….(or gained it in this case!!).

So, the moral of the story for me is, stop spending so much time worrying about how you look or what you weigh because, with hindsight, I have realised that you never look as bad as you think you do!!

Aaahh… Me and Dagmar when we were about 10

Me and Dave at the UPE Dance in 1995

December 1995. I was soooo embarassed, because I thought it
was too short. But check out that waist… where did THAT go?

Aaahhhhhh… the good old days. Me and Dave in 2000.

4 Responses to “The way we were”

  1. Wendy September 23, 2007 at 3:01 pm #

    This is so true Pia. I am a photo fan and the other day when I was back in Cape town i dragged out a photo from my 21st. I looked so thin and great but I know i never let off complaining about my weight. I love these photos of you. In the black dress i would never have guessed that was you. As for the 90s dance OMG i am glad the 90s are over. The last one of the 2 of you is my favorite. you look so beautiful and relaxed
    Keep them coming
    xx

  2. Family Life September 25, 2007 at 8:42 am #

    I just LOVE this last photo of you and Dave – you look stunning!
    xxx

  3. purpleronnie September 26, 2007 at 7:25 am #

    Caroline always says this exact same thing to me and it is true. When you look at old pics of yourself you think.. DAMN i’m hot!! Maybe that is what people think of you now… it is just a perception thing..
    The pics are stunning and I must agree the last one is the most beautiful!
    xxx

  4. Nana Fi September 30, 2007 at 12:59 pm #

    Hi Pia, love reading your blog. I love that last picture of you and Dave, it looks old fashioned, you should change it to sepia and could be from the 50’s. Keep blogging. Fiona

Leave a Reply

