The Power of Letting GO

4 Aug

How many of us hold onto things that should be let go? I am a pack rat and a hoarder. I keep anything and everything. Minimalist is not a word in my dictionary. But it is not physical hoarding that I am talking about.

Physical hoarding is just a symptom of what’s going on inside. I am talking emotionally and psychologically. I hold on and hold on and hold on. To my past. To my dreams. To what could have been or what might have been. The what-ifs are always floating around in the back of my mind. Some of them are everyday what-ifs. Like: what if this morning, I went for a walk on the beach instead of lying in bed? What if I cut my hair instead of letting it grow?

But then there are those dreadful gut wrenching what-ifs that you can shove out of your mind most days, but come back to haunt you every now and then. They are the opportunities lost. The roads not travelled. And those thoughts sneak in and tease you with what might have been. For me, the worst what-ifs are the lost hopes and dreams. I look back and wonder what became of that person I was 10 or 15 years ago. I miss her.

But then I go and hold my beautiful baby boy and know that all those what-ifs have led me to him. I know that I have to embrace my what-ifs and gracefully let them go. They have led me to who I am today and I have to let go of them to truly move on and grow into the future. I am realising that you can only have new hopes and dreams if you first let go of the old ones. You have to trust that you are exactly where you are meant to be. You have to believe that you are being guided along your path and if you are open to the guidance, you will get to where you are meant to be.

I know I have to let go… but dammit, it’s hard!

We must be willing to let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the life that is waiting for us.
Joseph Campbell
The Tao Te Ching says, When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be… This is the paradox of letting go. Let go, in order to achieve.
Mary Manin Morrissey
Sit quietly, doing nothing, spring comes, and the grass grows by itself.
Zen saying
One Response to “The Power of Letting GO”

  1. Family Life August 7, 2007 at 7:42 am #

    Glad to see you have moved to blogger, my darling.
    Yes letting go is difficult, a process really. Us earth signs tend to get stuck on ideas and often find it hard to move on, so I know the feeling. I try and live by the motto “rather regret the things you did, then the things you didn’t!” and must say if I hadn’t had that approach, I would have passed up a lot of amazing opportunities and experiences in my life. Just remember, don’t let those things you regret not having done haunt you any longer – use them to learn from. From this moment on, commit to live the life you want! (with your beautiful baby boy in toe) ps: I love that Joseph Campbell quote!
    xxxx

Leave a Reply

